Pages: [1]
[BOINCstats] skivelitis
 
Tester - BOINCstats SOFA member
BAM!ID: 55452
Joined: 2008-07-13
Posts: 559
Credits: 179,391,028
World-rank: 5,748

2010-04-06 01:43:28

Can anyone tell me which of the Ibercivis subprojects pay relatively well? I can't make heads or tails of their website as 90% of it is in Spanish.



magyarficko
 
BAM!ID: 76666
Joined: 2009-10-30
Posts: 619
Credits: 287,367,952
World-rank: 4,119

2010-04-06 01:54:38

IPHARDIT wrote:
I can't make heads or tails of their website as 90% of it is in Spanish.


Can't help with recommending sub-projects, but I shared your experience with their site in the past. Funny thing ... if I browse to www.ibercivis.es with Windows IE, it is indeed all Spanish. BUT, if I browse to the EXACT SAME address with Mozilla Firefox I get the pages served up in English


[BOINCstats] skivelitis
 
Tester - BOINCstats SOFA member
BAM!ID: 55452
Joined: 2008-07-13
Posts: 559
Credits: 179,391,028
World-rank: 5,748

2010-04-06 02:01:11

I tried your link in firefox, but it still came up in Spanish. I am, however, running a game booster to stop some processes and save CPU cycles. I'll check the programs list and see if a language translator is part of the suspended services.



[BOINCstats] skivelitis
 
Tester - BOINCstats SOFA member
BAM!ID: 55452
Joined: 2008-07-13
Posts: 559
Credits: 179,391,028
World-rank: 5,748

2010-04-06 02:12:39

Didn't help--still in Spanish. Wonder if the .es means Spanish and .en would stand for English? If that doesn't work I'll have to wait for a bilingual helper to come along. Come to think of it, I dont even know how I attached to this project unless the BOINC mgr. translated it at the time.



Gundolf Jahn
 
BAM!ID: 16586
Joined: 2007-01-07
Posts: 469
Credits: 447,470
World-rank: 315,885

2010-04-06 07:54:11

IPHARDIT wrote:
Didn't help--still in Spanish. Wonder if the .es means Spanish and .en would stand for English? If that doesn't work I'll have to wait for a bilingual helper to come along. Come to think of it, I dont even know how I attached to this project unless the BOINC mgr. translated it at the time.

If I go to http://www.ibercivis.es with my IE6, all pages are in English, including the "Research" page, where the subprojects are described.

Since I have a German interface, I can only guess the correct names of the menu items, but if you select "Extras (Tools?)/Internet options..." and click the "Languages..." button, "English [en]" should be the topmost entry in the language box (that's how it's with mine). You probably have a newer IE version, but I think you should be able to find the language interface in a similar place.

Hope that helps.

Gruß,
Gundolf
Computer sind nicht alles im Leben. (Kleiner Scherz)
noderaser
 
BAM!ID: 13859
Joined: 2006-12-03
Posts: 827
Credits: 174,694,505
World-rank: 5,839

2010-04-07 04:50:46

IPHARDIT wrote:
Wonder if the .es means Spanish and .en would stand for English?


No, the .es means they're in Spain (2-letter ISO 3166 country code). There is no .en TLD as of yet.
[BOINCstats] skivelitis
 
Tester - BOINCstats SOFA member
BAM!ID: 55452
Joined: 2008-07-13
Posts: 559
Credits: 179,391,028
World-rank: 5,748

2010-04-07 10:46:33

Yeah, kinda figured that out after hitting the send button. Hoped it would pass unnoticed.



Kenneth Larsen
BAM!ID: 18810
Joined: 2007-02-07
Posts: 10
Credits: 195,172,662
World-rank: 5,412

2010-04-07 18:19:42
last modified: 2010-04-07 18:21:55

Well, I'm bilingual (or rather trilingual), any part of the webpage in specific you want me to translate? I'd be happy to help!

EDIT: Having said that, on my computer ibercivis.es is in English, however that may be because my OS is in English too. Try changing your OS language from US to UK and see if it changes anything?
[BOINCstats] skivelitis
 
Tester - BOINCstats SOFA member
BAM!ID: 55452
Joined: 2008-07-13
Posts: 559
Credits: 179,391,028
World-rank: 5,748

2010-04-07 20:18:05

First, THANK YOU for your generous offer Kenneth. Changing the OS language didn't help. Probably some obvious (to many) oversight on my part. What I am looking for specifically is RAM requirements per subproject, as well as a rough credit estimate and workunit length. Not much to ask for huh? I realize, depending on the quality of the web site, this may mean a somewhat lengthy forum browse. I would never expect you to spend a great deal of time or effort in that, or any, case. Any info, however, that you could provide would be greatly appreciated.



Kenneth Larsen
BAM!ID: 18810
Joined: 2007-02-07
Posts: 10
Credits: 195,172,662
World-rank: 5,412

2010-04-07 20:35:45

Unfortunately there's no such info to be found anywhere - Ibercivis doesn't have a forum of its own though the team Canal@boinc hosts one, but looking through the very few posts there I haven't found anything at all related to RAM usage or credit award. Though from my experience running this project I believe all subprojects grant approximately the same amount of credit.
For the RAM requirement, simply try connecting to all subprojects, if you do not have enough memory you shouldn't get sent any work. Minimum requirements for Ibercivis in general is 64MB.

Sorry I can't help you any more, but there really isn't much info available except about the science being done (which is explained on several pages).
magyarficko
 
BAM!ID: 76666
Joined: 2009-10-30
Posts: 619
Credits: 287,367,952
World-rank: 4,119

2010-04-07 20:48:50


Just to add my ....

I haven't run Ibercivis for a while but I have in the past. I ran ALL sub-projects, whatever they gave me -- some sub-projects occassionally run out of work, others are more plentiful. My host was a quad-core running 3GHz with 4GB installed memory and running Windows XP 64-bit. I would run Ibercivis on all four cores, along with MilkyWay GPU work and 25 FreeHAL WU's at all times.

I never ran into problems with memory, and wall clock run times for the Ibercivis tasks were anywhere from about 10 minutes to 2 hours each. Credits were average compared to other CPU projects -- not the greatest, but not the worst by far. Adjust these numbers to your memory/cpu configuration and you should be able to come up with a rough estimate.

Like Kenneth already said ... just run the projects and see for yourself. Good luck!

[BOINCstats] skivelitis
 
Tester - BOINCstats SOFA member
BAM!ID: 55452
Joined: 2008-07-13
Posts: 559
Credits: 179,391,028
World-rank: 5,748

2010-04-07 20:52:02

Thanks again for you help, I think I'll do as you suggested. My only concern is the project deciding my host has enough RAM,768mb, but that the workunit itself will crowd out the other workunits I run concurrently or make the computer itself unusable. This happens when I run resource hungry projects such as COSMO which requires close to 400mb RAM at times. I"ll post in a few days to let you know how it works out.



ebahapo
 
BAM!ID: 239
Joined: 2006-05-12
Posts: 659
Credits: 32,320,795
World-rank: 19,265

2010-04-08 15:57:43

FWIW, Ibercivis is a pretty well managed project and shouldn't require heavy-lifting from its participating systems.

One neat thing about it is that it's got so many applications that it's like several projects under one umbrella. Of course, you can select which applications you run. Check out http://www.ibercivis.es/ibercivis/promedios.php for the several projects and their average run-time and general availability of WUs.

HTH
[BOINCstats] skivelitis
 
Tester - BOINCstats SOFA member
BAM!ID: 55452
Joined: 2008-07-13
Posts: 559
Credits: 179,391,028
World-rank: 5,748

2010-04-11 14:32:32
last modified: 2010-04-11 15:15:22


Like Kenneth already said ... just run the projects and see for yourself. Good luck!

[/quote]
Just ran an amelide-docking wu. RAM was ok, but only 3 credits for 4+ hrs. of crunch time. OUCH!!!!! Wish I had the skills to post a link to the wu but, alas, I do not. Note: By crunch time I mean actual CPU not elapsed. Just finished another- same run time but almost 30 credits.



Marty
 
BOINCstats SOFA member
BAM!ID: 2256
Joined: 2006-06-16
Posts: 873
Credits: 1,565,386,789
World-rank: 1,194

2010-05-01 06:35:00

The credits for Ibercivis subprojects are dynamically adjusted (more work done by all participants -> less credit).
In the Credit History you will see how the credits changed and the average CPU time for a WU over the last 2 months.

To get the website in English i also believe you have to set English as the preferred language in your browser (FF: Tools->Options->Content->Languages)
[BOINCstats] skivelitis
 
Tester - BOINCstats SOFA member
BAM!ID: 55452
Joined: 2008-07-13
Posts: 559
Credits: 179,391,028
World-rank: 5,748

2010-05-23 14:21:22

For those interested, the Google Chrome browser will translate the web page automatically.



nenym
 
BAM!ID: 64315
Joined: 2009-01-15
Posts: 2
Credits: 5,660,602,763
World-rank: 460

2011-01-26 03:38:11

Any success with Linux CUDA apps for primes and wilson primes?
Pages: [1]

Index :: The Projects :: Ibercivis subprojects
Reason: