Pages: [1]
_Ryle_
    Donator
BAM!ID: 23282
Credits: 2,885,996,317
World-rank: 932

2008-07-03 18:54:56

Several times I've attempted to educate myself in programming. I've been using computers daily for nearly two decades now, but still I don't know how to program a computer.

Recently I enlisted for a JAVA course, and at first it went pretty good. But when we got to the more advanced stuff, I had to give up. I guess the air went out of the balloon so to speak. But I really would like to learn a programming language and I was told that JAVA should be a good place to start, but I think it is pretty darn hard.

I still have the book from the course i attended, but it looks evil now, like something i cant get into really. I would need to start over from the beginning, and that is a bit demotivating.

I never got a good notion of the various terms like what "Object Oriented programming" or "constructors" for example, really means.

I guess my main problem is that although I really want to learn it, the motivation is missing.

I've always been a "hardware man", but software construction is the backbone of most computer educations. So I have no choice but to learn it, somehow, sometime.

My question, i guess, is not where to find good educational information on programming, because it is all over the internet. But rather to hear stories from others on how you cracked the nut of programming.

So how did you start out? And where did it lead you to?

Best regards, Ryle.
[BOINCstats] Willy

Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 1
Credits: 350,105,499
World-rank: 4,518

2008-07-05 13:14:15

I started way back when I had a ZX-Spectrum. I played with the build in BASIC and guess the best thing I made was a small game with dices. I learned the BASIC by typing over listings from magazines.