Pages: [1]
Tuna Ertemalp
 
Tester
BAM!ID: 37744
Joined: 2007-10-31
Posts: 533
Credits: 14,537,862,372
World-rank: 261

2016-02-02 17:56:02

Sometimes I want to drain a project on all my hosts using NoNewWork, not detach from it, but keep it attached on the hosts without tasks while I have the hosts focus on another set of projects. And, to speed that up, I also do AbortNotStartedWork.

The easiest way would have been to go to MyProjects, click on Hosts for that project, click on NoNewWork and AbortNotStartedWork for each machine (see my request for a SelectAll in https://boincstats.com/en/forum/19/10538,1), and then let it happen. Unfortunately, however, the AbortNotStartedWork checkbox never shows up for any of the hosts on that page. So, all I can do is NoNewTasks on that page for each host, and then go the HostList page, click on each host, click on EditProjects, and set AbortNotStartedWork for that project; in other words, set the AbortNotStartedWork property for the project individually on each host. That is a lot of clicks. If it worked on the MyProjects/Hosts page, and if the SelectAll were implemented, the whole thing would be just two clicks, not tons.

Tuna

Tuna Ertemalp
 
Tester
BAM!ID: 37744
Joined: 2007-10-31
Posts: 533
Credits: 14,537,862,372
World-rank: 261

2016-02-20 16:02:21

Maybe this has something to do with the fact that the MyProjects->a project's ShowHosts doesn't show that project's WorkLeft on that host the way HostList->hostname->EditProjects does. So, the code behind showing/hiding the AbortNotStartedWork checkbox thinks the nonexisting value is "0", thus decides to not show it, just like on the HostList->hostname->EditProjects page. If I am right, then having the WorkLeft column in MyProjects->a project's ShowHosts would be both extremely useful (giving the user one place to see how much work for that project is remaining to happen on all the hosts as opposed to looking at the hosts one by one) and result in showing/hiding the AbortNotStartedWork correctly.

Then again, I am probably wrong. Yet, having the WorkLeft in MyProjects->a project's ShowHosts would be beyond awesome!

Tuna

PS: Other useful additions to that page would be (1) clicking on the HostName leading to the HostInformation page instead of selecting the row and showing the checkboxes, and (2) addition of the Coprocessor column, possibly along with the OS column... And, a way to SelectAll (https://boincstats.com/en/forum/19/10538,1) .
[BOINCstats] Willy
 
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9281
Credits: 349,822,518
World-rank: 3,836

2016-02-21 09:04:46

"Abort not started work" now works on the MyProjects page. You may need to clear the browser cache as it was a change in JavaScript.
Please do not PM, IM or email me for support (they will go unread/ignored). Use the forum for support.
[BOINCstats] Willy
 
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9281
Credits: 349,822,518
World-rank: 3,836

2016-02-21 09:15:35

Added "Work left". Will be available once the new code goes in production.
Please do not PM, IM or email me for support (they will go unread/ignored). Use the forum for support.
Tuna Ertemalp
 
Tester
BAM!ID: 37744
Joined: 2007-10-31
Posts: 533
Credits: 14,537,862,372
World-rank: 261

2016-03-04 18:51:16

[BOINCstats Willy wrote:

Added "Work left". Will be available once the new code goes in production.


This seems to be now available. Thanks, Willy! So beautiful, so useful...

Tuna
Pages: [1]

Index :: BAM! Bug Report :: "Abort Not Started Work" under MyProjects, ShowHosts is missing
Reason: