Pages: [1]
Tom_unoduetre
    Donator
Tester
BAM!ID: 1183
Joined: 2006-05-31
Posts: 57
Credits: 9,950,073
World-rank: 43,694

2013-07-30 19:48:58

Hey,

I just found a strange behaviour with work preferences when I looked through the boinc messages (here´s an excerpt):

53 30.07.2013 21:08:40 General prefs: from http://bam.boincstats.com/ (last modified 29-Jul-2013 22:12:08)
54 30.07.2013 21:08:40 Host location: none
55 30.07.2013 21:08:40 General prefs: using your defaults
56 30.07.2013 21:08:40 Preferences:
57 30.07.2013 21:08:40 max memory usage when active: 6512.20MB
58 30.07.2013 21:08:40 max memory usage when idle: 8140.25MB
59 30.07.2013 21:08:40 max disk usage: 64.50GB
60 30.07.2013 21:08:40 don't use GPU while active
61 30.07.2013 21:08:40 (to change preferences, visit a project web site or select Preferences in the Manager)

63 30.07.2013 21:08:40 General prefs: from http://bam.boincstats.com/ (last modified 29-Jul-2013 22:12:09)
64 30.07.2013 21:08:40 Host location: none
65 30.07.2013 21:08:40 General prefs: using your defaults
66 30.07.2013 21:08:40 Preferences:
67 30.07.2013 21:08:40 max memory usage when active: 4070.13MB
68 30.07.2013 21:08:40 max memory usage when idle: 7326.23MB
69 30.07.2013 21:08:40 max disk usage: 829.63GB
70 30.07.2013 21:08:40 don't compute while active
71 30.07.2013 21:08:40 don't use GPU while active
72 30.07.2013 21:08:40 suspend work if non-BOINC CPU load exceeds 25 %
73 30.07.2013 21:08:40 (to change preferences, visit a project web site or select Preferences in the Manager)

Please check the time, the first one are the values which I entered in the preference, the second "rogue" one seems to be created one second after I saved the preferences and it includes values I cannot get rid off.

Every time I synch with BAM manually the correct prefs. are loaded but after some seconds the other rogue preference is loaded causing all projects to stop because of the "don't compute while active" option turned on.

Also, should not the line "Host location: none" be something like "Host location: home2" (my current pref) ?
Jeff17
 
Tester - BOINCstats SOFA member
BAM!ID: 47291
Joined: 2008-03-03
Posts: 441
Credits: 10,331,013,290
World-rank: 284

2013-07-31 04:34:55

I can think of three issues:
1) it is generally not a good idea to use preference names other than the BOINC standard entries of "default/none", "home", "work", "school". Some projects do not support other names so changes will not propagate from BAM to the projects (or will propagate incorrectly) and you will end up using the "default/none" preferences at those projects
2) is the host configured in BAM to use preference home2?
3) were there project names with any of these log lines? After BAM pushes the preferences to the projects you may get lines similar to these from the projects when you connect to them and their preferences don't match what is currently on the host
Tom_unoduetre
    Donator
Tester
BAM!ID: 1183
Joined: 2006-05-31
Posts: 57
Credits: 9,950,073
World-rank: 43,694

2013-07-31 07:34:29

Hi Jeff, thanks for your comments, some answers here:
Jeff17 wrote:
1) it is generally not a good idea to use preference names other than the BOINC standard entries of "default/none", "home", "work", "school". Some projects do not support other names so changes will not propagate from BAM to the projects (or will propagate incorrectly) and you will end up using the "default/none" preferences at those projects
The same happened when I used the default home preference, that´s why I created an individual one. I will revert back to the default home pref for better troubleshooting. Both home and home2 share the same options by the way.

Jeff17 wrote:
2) is the host configured in BAM to use preference home2?
yes, it was set to home2, but reverted back to home now, will see why the message log will say

Jeff17 wrote:
3) were there project names with any of these log lines? After BAM pushes the preferences to the projects you may get lines similar to these from the projects when you connect to them and their preferences don't match what is currently on the host
yes one line from LHC@home but it just said "sheduler request completed"

I haven´t checked further yesterday but will do this evening. My guess would be that either something is happening when you save a preference in BAM (hence the one second difference in the saved preferences) or that there is an old entry in one of my xml files. Deleting the local prefs within BOINC and resynching afterwards didn´t help as well.
Jeff17
 
Tester - BOINCstats SOFA member
BAM!ID: 47291
Joined: 2008-03-03
Posts: 441
Credits: 10,331,013,290
World-rank: 284

2013-08-01 05:11:58

Tom_unoduetre wrote:
Jeff17 wrote:
3) were there project names with any of these log lines? After BAM pushes the preferences to the projects you may get lines similar to these from the projects when you connect to them and their preferences don't match what is currently on the host
yes one line from LHC@home but it just said "sheduler request completed"

I haven´t checked further yesterday but will do this evening. My guess would be that either something is happening when you save a preference in BAM (hence the one second difference in the saved preferences) or that there is an old entry in one of my xml files. Deleting the local prefs within BOINC and resynching afterwards didn´t help as well.


So the preference lines after the LHC@home schedule request completed were the preferences coming from LHC being applied. After you set the preferences here at BAM it attempts to push a copy of the changes to all the projects you have registered in BAM. Those projects will record the time of change on their system, thus slight time difference like you are seeing.

So this brings up another issue you may be seeing. For each system (BAM and projects) your computer syncs with you can set the profile to use. Thus you could be using 'home' when talking with BAM but 'default' when talking to LHC. So take a look at your host profile at LHC to see which profile it is using and then at the preferences in the profile there. Since your logs showed using default at both BAM and LHC it is odd the preference values would not match but if they don't I would suggest making a slight change here (like change resource share from 100 to 105), wait a few minutes, then check if the change got to the correct profile at LHC.
Tom_unoduetre
    Donator
Tester
BAM!ID: 1183
Joined: 2006-05-31
Posts: 57
Credits: 9,950,073
World-rank: 43,694

2013-08-01 12:43:09

Thanks Jeff, I will investigate further this evening but I don´t think that the wrong pref. comes from LHC, because in my log it says both times "General prefs: from http://bam.boincstats.com/" which I think that if a pref would come from LHC then that project name should appear there (my guess).



Tom_unoduetre
    Donator
Tester
BAM!ID: 1183
Joined: 2006-05-31
Posts: 57
Credits: 9,950,073
World-rank: 43,694

2013-08-01 19:22:11

Ok, I think I found the issue (stupid me)...

It seems I created a new preference and named it home instead of using the home pref here. I have now deleted the self created home pref and am currently using the BAM home pref without problems, also the host location is set to home

174 01.08.2013 21:07:22 General prefs: from http://bam.boincstats.com/ (last modified 01-Aug-2013 21:05:51)
175 01.08.2013 21:07:22 Computer location: home
176 01.08.2013 21:07:22 General prefs: using separate prefs for home
177 01.08.2013 21:07:22 Preferences:
178 01.08.2013 21:07:22 max memory usage when active: 7326.23MB
179 01.08.2013 21:07:22 max memory usage when idle: 7326.23MB
180 01.08.2013 21:07:22 max disk usage: 100.00GB
181 01.08.2013 21:07:22 don't use GPU while active
182 01.08.2013 21:07:22 (to change preferences, visit a project web site or select Preferences in the Manager)

Actually I´m not sure why or when I did this.

Thanks Jeff for bearing with me.
Pages: [1]

Index :: BAM! Bug Report :: Saving Work preferences bugged?
Reason: