Pages: [1]
Ezel
BAM!ID: 1158
Joined: 2006-05-31
Posts: 3
Credits: 735,745
World-rank: 244,844

2006-05-31 13:00:26
last modified: 2006-05-31 13:01:46

Hmm. This doesn't seem to work for me :-(
I get no work and boinc doesn't show any attached projects.

* Boinc installed: 5.4.9 connected with my BAM-account.
* BAMmenu-project list: 3 projects. Climate Prediction, Seti@home and Predictor@home. Seta and Predictor are set to "attach by default".
* BAM-preferences: Have pressed "save to projects" once and now it has been removed as an option (as it should)
Boincmanager-tools-synchronizewithBAM: Gives "update completed"popup-dialog and in the log it says "Account manager contact succeeded".

So all seems fine. . . Except that my boinc isn't connected to any projects. I thought that the "attach by default" would attach me to the default projects when I press the synchronizewithBAM?

Anybody that can help me so my boinc can get some projects to work on?
Am I doing anything wrong?

Im running on Windows XP.

Mvh: Ezel ... Malmoe, Sweden
Ezel
BAM!ID: 1158
Joined: 2006-05-31
Posts: 3
Credits: 735,745
World-rank: 244,844

2006-05-31 13:07:05

Ok.
Read some posts in the bug-forum and found something interesting.

Went to BAMmenu-hostlist and there attached the projects to my host.
Synchronized in boinc and it attached to projects and started working!

But I still wonder . . Shouldn't the "attach by default" have handled that?

Mvh: Ezel ... Malmoe, Sweden
Son Goku 3SSJ
 
Forum moderator - Translator
BAM!ID: 8
Joined: 2006-01-11
Posts: 182
Credits: 2,572,985
World-rank: 120,810

2006-05-31 13:38:54

Ok.
Read some posts in the bug-forum and found something interesting.

Went to BAMmenu-hostlist and there attached the projects to my host.
Synchronized in boinc and it attached to projects and started working!

But I still wonder . . Shouldn't the "attach by default" have handled that?

Mvh: Ezel ... Malmoe, Sweden

No. Default attach will attach any new host that will contact BAM!. So as written by you your host is not new, so default attach shouldn't attach you when you synchronize with BAM!
part of
Wenn jeder an sich denkt, wird an alle gedacht!
Ezel
BAM!ID: 1158
Joined: 2006-05-31
Posts: 3
Credits: 735,745
World-rank: 244,844

2006-05-31 16:30:01

Hmmm. .So. . .

Let's say that I have installed boinc on 1000 hosts running seti@home.
Then one day a new project, let's call it projectx@home, emerges that I want to run on all my hosts.

Then I have to go to the host list and for all 1000 hosts click "attach" to projectx@home?
I can't just set "attach by default" on projectx@home?

If not. . . Is there any plans for such a feature?

Mvh: Ezel ... Malmoe, Sweden
[BOINCstats] Willy
 
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9282
Credits: 349,822,518
World-rank: 3,844

2006-05-31 17:01:04

A 'force defaults to all clients' is in the works.

I also see the option to add a feature that will attach one project to all hosts.
Please do not PM, IM or email me for support (they will go unread/ignored). Use the forum for support.
Craig Miller
BAM!ID: 1659
Joined: 2006-06-05
Posts: 5
Credits: 1,068,130
World-rank: 200,735

2006-06-05 19:45:08
last modified: 2006-06-05 20:50:34

I am new to BAM, and am having trouble attaching my existing projects (SETI and Einstein), I am trying to follow the Step by Step Setup Instructions.

I have created a BAM acount, then received my activation Email and logged on to BAM

I go to step 4 Sign up for Projects ,there it says to mark the Re-Check account button for existing projects, but there is no such button. The Find accounts button doesn't work, that is, the words Wrong Password appear under the Last Attempt column. But it never asks for a password . I have a password for my BOINC account, but only account keys for SETI and Einstein.
Also under Step 4 it states '..(This step is optional if you already joined a project)

so I tried going to Step5 Resources. But no projects are listed.

How do I set up BAM for my existing projects, which are running fine under BOINC, latest client 5.4.9?

Craig Miller
UBT - Halifax--lad
 
BAM!ID: 25
Joined: 2006-02-27
Posts: 366
Credits: 49,272
World-rank: 918,001

2006-06-05 20:50:12

Stupid question, have you connected your BOINC client to BAM? with the relevant URL, username and password?
Join us in Chat (see the forum) Click the Sig
Craig Miller
BAM!ID: 1659
Joined: 2006-06-05
Posts: 5
Credits: 1,068,130
World-rank: 200,735

2006-06-05 20:55:09
last modified: 2006-06-05 20:55:39

Sorry, I don't see anything to click on for CHAT

Not a stupid question, Exactly how would I do this additional step?

What URL, username, and password? For BAM ,for the client, or for BOINC?

Craig Miller
Son Goku 3SSJ
 
Forum moderator - Translator
BAM!ID: 8
Joined: 2006-01-11
Posts: 182
Credits: 2,572,985
World-rank: 120,810

2006-06-05 20:56:56

I am new to BAM, and am having trouble attaching my existing projects (SETI and Einstein), I am trying to follow the Step by Step Setup Instructions.

I have created a BAM acount, then received my activation Email and logged on to BAM

I go to step 4 Sign up for Projects ,there it says to mark the Re-Check account button for existing projects, but there is no such button. The Find accounts button doesn't work, that is, the words Wrong Password appear under the Last Attempt column. But it never asks for a password . I have a password for my BOINC account, but only account keys for SETI and Einstein.
Also under Step 4 it states '..(This step is optional if you already joined a project)

so I tried going to Step5 Resources. But no projects are listed.

How do I set up BAM for my existing projects, which are running fine under BOINC, latest client 5.4.9?

Craig Miller

Account keys are now less and less frequently use. Instead of that it is used a combination fo email and password to identify you in the projects. So in order to use BAM you must log in to your project accounts (SETI & Eintstein) with the account keys and then find the password link and change your password to be the same as your BAM password. Then try the Find account button again
part of
Wenn jeder an sich denkt, wird an alle gedacht!
UBT - Halifax--lad
 
BAM!ID: 25
Joined: 2006-02-27
Posts: 366
Credits: 49,272
World-rank: 918,001

2006-06-05 20:57:05

Try the instructions
Join us in Chat (see the forum) Click the Sig
Craig Miller
BAM!ID: 1659
Joined: 2006-06-05
Posts: 5
Credits: 1,068,130
World-rank: 200,735

2006-06-05 21:16:45
last modified: 2006-06-05 21:20:03


Account keys are now less and less frequently use. Instead of that it is used a combination fo email and password to identify you in the projects. So in order to use BAM you must log in to your project accounts (SETI & Eintstein) with the account keys and then find the password link and change your password to be the same as your BAM password. Then try the Find account button again


Thanks, I now have the two old accounts (SETI & Einstein) in the Resource lsit. I also added Rosetta.

Do I now have to set up BAM as an Account Manager in BOINC?

Craig Miller
Son Goku 3SSJ
 
Forum moderator - Translator
BAM!ID: 8
Joined: 2006-01-11
Posts: 182
Credits: 2,572,985
World-rank: 120,810

2006-06-05 21:20:48
last modified: 2006-06-05 21:21:20


Account keys are now less and less frequently use. Instead of that it is used a combination fo email and password to identify you in the projects. So in order to use BAM you must log in to your project accounts (SETI & Eintstein) with the account keys and then find the password link and change your password to be the same as your BAM password. Then try the Find account button again


Thanks, I now have the two old accounts (SETI & Einstein) in the Resource lsit. I also added Rosetta.

Do I now have to set up BAM as an Account Manager in BOINC?

Craig Miller

Yes, you do. Otherwise BAM won't be able to control the client - atach to projects, etc.
part of
Wenn jeder an sich denkt, wird an alle gedacht!
Craig Miller
BAM!ID: 1659
Joined: 2006-06-05
Posts: 5
Credits: 1,068,130
World-rank: 200,735

2006-06-05 21:31:42



Do I now have to set up BAM as an Account Manager in BOINC?

Craig Miller

Yes, you do. Otherwise BAM won't be able to control the client - atach to projects, etc.


Sorry to be so dense, but I still need help. When I go into BOINC and attempt to set up an account manager (BAM), it needs a URL. Apparently http://www.boincstats.com/bam is not correct.
What is the correct URL for BAM?

Craig
web03
BAM!ID: 1666
Joined: 2006-06-05
Posts: 4
Credits: 1,681,770
World-rank: 155,251

2006-06-05 21:35:23

bam.boincstats.com
UBT - Halifax--lad
 
BAM!ID: 25
Joined: 2006-02-27
Posts: 366
Credits: 49,272
World-rank: 918,001

2006-06-05 21:43:39

Follow the install instructions all the info is there!
Join us in Chat (see the forum) Click the Sig
Craig Miller
BAM!ID: 1659
Joined: 2006-06-05
Posts: 5
Credits: 1,068,130
World-rank: 200,735

2006-06-05 22:35:44

bam.boincstats.com


Thanks, BOINC is now attached to BAM.

Craig
web03
BAM!ID: 1666
Joined: 2006-06-05
Posts: 4
Credits: 1,681,770
World-rank: 155,251

2006-06-06 00:45:51

bam.boincstats.com


Thanks, BOINC is now attached to BAM.

Craig


You are most welcome. I had just set myself up not long before your post. However, silly me didn't do something right and I lost a CPDN unit that had about 17 hours left to process. All of my projects detached from one machine. Oh well, I'm back up and running now.
Trog Dog
 
Volunteer tester
BAM!ID: 206
Joined: 2006-05-11
Posts: 119
Credits: 66,172,318
World-rank: 12,389

2006-06-06 12:09:02

Well done Son Goku 3SSJ and Web03.
Steve Cressman
 
BAM!ID: 157
Joined: 2006-05-11
Posts: 37
Credits: 112,735
World-rank: 644,139

2006-06-09 18:21:33

Sorry, I don't see anything to click on for CHAT

Not a stupid question, Exactly how would I do this additional step?

What URL, username, and password? For BAM ,for the client, or for BOINC?

Craig Miller

The way I read it he was not saying that you asked a stupid question. He is saying that he is asking you a stupid question because he was going back to the basics of setting up the account.

I posted this because I saw your other comment about this in another thread and thought that the misunderstanding should be cleared up as soon as possible. Glad you did getting working.
Grenadier
BAM!ID: 59
Joined: 2006-05-10
Posts: 254
Credits: 15,227,314
World-rank: 35,914

2006-08-04 19:44:08

A 'force defaults to all clients' is in the works.

I also see the option to add a feature that will attach one project to all hosts.


Any progress on either of these features? As far as I know, I still need to attach a new project to each host one by one. At that point, it's easier to do it with BOINCview. Shouldn't BAM be able to handle this kind of maintenance?
[BOINCstats] Willy
 
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9282
Credits: 349,822,518
World-rank: 3,844

2006-08-06 12:37:50
last modified: 2006-08-06 12:38:10

On the resources page you can now attach or detach a project for all hosts.
Please do not PM, IM or email me for support (they will go unread/ignored). Use the forum for support.
Grenadier
BAM!ID: 59
Joined: 2006-05-10
Posts: 254
Credits: 15,227,314
World-rank: 35,914

2006-08-07 12:51:47

Sweet! Thanks Willy!
jreige
BAM!ID: 7004
Joined: 2006-09-25
Posts: 3
Credits: 114,192
World-rank: 640,320

2006-10-09 00:22:45

Thanks so much for this, it has helped me get on track with BOINC stats.

the.kringel
 
BAM!ID: 15809
Joined: 2006-12-29
Posts: 7
Credits: 26,063,085
World-rank: 24,183

2006-12-29 23:32:35

Ey Halifax, being fair is not your strong side, is it?

It's a **** mess to find the "instructions" on how to attach BAM to BOINC - I think there's need for a link in a (every?) user's "my BAM Menu".

And these instructions aren't complete at all: To keep out of mischief, I took step by step of the instructions. BOINC just won't compute, if you did not attach your projects to your host. Where to find THIS in the instructions? Nowhere, I can tell you.

In Germany there's a proverb about communication "Wie man in den Wald ruft, so schallt es heraus" - adequate english proverb: "As the question, so the answer".

Regards from a frustrated noob,
Kringel.
SOS - Safe often, stupid!
Saenger
 
Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 5
Joined: 2006-01-10
Posts: 1735
Credits: 138,691,497
World-rank: 7,383

2007-01-19 15:03:35

And these instructions aren't complete at all: To keep out of mischief, I took step by step of the instructions. BOINC just won't compute, if you did not attach your projects to your host. Where to find THIS in the instructions? Nowhere, I can tell you.

In Germany there's a proverb about communication "Wie man in den Wald ruft, so schallt es heraus" - adequate english proverb: "As the question, so the answer".


That hurts
Really, is my translation that bad that you couldn't follow? Where did I loose you?

Das tut weh
Ehrlich, wo hab' ich denn mit meiner Übersetzung so versagt, das Du nicht mehr folgen konntest?
Grüße vom Sänger
Pages: [1]

Index :: BAM! General :: My boinc doesnt attach projects! :-(
Reason: