Pages: [1]
typscrtrl
BAM!ID: 12672
Joined: 2006-11-19
Posts: 5
Credits: 10,040
World-rank: 1,623,940

2006-11-21 03:02:51

I have set my BOINC Manager to Snooze until I can find someone who can tell me how to setup my Bam and Boinc so that my CPU does not overheat.If nobody knows I will have to cancel my membership entirely.I have installed BES but it does not work when the computer switch's projects.I tried to setup my preferences in BAM but do not know how to fix the problem.I only have one Computer and I do not want to mess it up.Also Threadmaster will not work on my Computer.
PovAddict
BAM!ID: 115
Joined: 2006-05-10
Posts: 1013
Credits: 3,218,137
World-rank: 101,036

2006-11-21 03:28:24

I have set my BOINC Manager to Snooze until I can find someone who can tell me how to setup my Bam and Boinc so that my CPU does not overheat.If nobody knows I will have to cancel my membership entirely.I have installed BES but it does not work when the computer switch's projects.I tried to setup my preferences in BAM but do not know how to fix the problem.I only have one Computer and I do not want to mess it up.Also Threadmaster will not work on my Computer.

For starters, BAM has nothing to do with this. Then, BOINC has currently no way to use less CPU so it heats less. A beta version of BOINC has this, but it works quite bad. Apparently they fixed now, there hasn't been a new release with the fix yet.
[BOINCstats] Willy
 
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9237
Credits: 349,822,518
World-rank: 3,568

2006-11-21 05:40:53

What CPU do you have, and what cooler is on it?
Please do not PM, IM or email me for support (they will go unread/ignored). Use the forum for support.
typscrtrl
BAM!ID: 12672
Joined: 2006-11-19
Posts: 5
Credits: 10,040
World-rank: 1,623,940

2006-11-21 11:37:11

What CPU do you have, and what cooler is on it?


It is a Syntax Microsoft Windows XP with an Intel(R) 2.20 Ghz Celeron Processor that is cooled by a fan.I know it is getting hot because I installed a program called Speedfan and it is showing that it is getting hot.
KSMarksPsych
 
BAM!ID: 474
Joined: 2006-05-21
Posts: 139
Credits: 10,207,149
World-rank: 45,539

2006-11-22 00:48:03

There's a difference between getting hot and overheating.

You are using 100% of the CPU now, so it's going to be warmer than if you were just surfing doing word processing stuff.


I have no idea about what temps are ok for what processors and/or MoBos. That's something you can google it and compare to what Speedfan says. Then decide if the CPU is getting too hot.


I can definitely say that the current alpha version of BOINC has a problem with the CPU throttling mechanism. I'm currently running a build withe a fix for it that Dr. Anderson sent to me to test today and it seems to be working flawlessly. So I believe that the development team at Berkeley has ironed this bug out. The fix should show up in the next alpha release.
PovAddict
BAM!ID: 115
Joined: 2006-05-10
Posts: 1013
Credits: 3,218,137
World-rank: 101,036

2006-11-22 00:54:20

I have no idea about what temps are ok for what processors and/or MoBos. That's something you can google it and compare to what Speedfan says. Then decide if the CPU is getting too hot.

It depends on the CPU model, some CPUs handle more, some handle less. By the way, dust is one of the main enemies of computers, keep your computer clean! It's amazing how cooler the CPU runs with dust-less heatsink.
Sekerob
BAM!ID: 4449
Joined: 2006-08-23
Posts: 33
Credits: 19,066,982
World-rank: 28,593

2006-12-03 13:23:15

I have no idea about what temps are ok for what processors and/or MoBos. That's something you can google it and compare to what Speedfan says. Then decide if the CPU is getting too hot.

It depends on the CPU model, some CPUs handle more, some handle less. By the way, dust is one of the main enemies of computers, keep your computer clean! It's amazing how cooler the CPU runs with dust-less heatsink.


A real smoothy to manage the CPU ticks used by BOiNC is Threadmaster. There's an alternate called BES with interface, but never tried it.
Gerry Rough
 
BAM!ID: 713
Joined: 2006-05-25
Posts: 226
Credits: 6,726,654
World-rank: 61,397

2006-12-06 17:17:02

I had this very same problem when I upgraded last year. The problem? I had my computer in a bad place, where the recirculated heat was getting into the inlet. Make sure you have plenty of fresh air, not heated air going into the fan.

(Click for detailed stats)
Gerry Rough
 
BAM!ID: 713
Joined: 2006-05-25
Posts: 226
Credits: 6,726,654
World-rank: 61,397

2006-12-06 17:30:43

I was just thinking after I posted my last message that my P4 tended to go haywire overheating if my apartment was anything over 80 degrees. So, make sure room temp is pretty cool too. I try to keep my boxes below the m m mid seventies. It's s s s reallllllly eassssssy now that wwwwinter has come to Indiana!! :-D

(Click for detailed stats)
hubert333
 
BAM!ID: 9050
Joined: 2006-10-16
Posts: 3
Credits: 6,256
World-rank: 1,873,534

2006-12-17 12:35:38

hello folks,
just one trick by 2 processor-technic..... but.. ever take new by all workunits.
1) goin taskmanager
2) rightclick on workunit
3) take on/off ......... 1 or 2 processor`s

tip:--> 2 workunits on processor 2 raise the cpu from 100% to 50%
the temperature goes with down.... ;-D

other homework on the computers make on processor 1...

thats all.... i hope you enjoy this.....

comes time... comes a tool with a fine justage from the cpu-throttle....
... i hope so...... for all users.

bb
PovAddict
BAM!ID: 115
Joined: 2006-05-10
Posts: 1013
Credits: 3,218,137
World-rank: 101,036

2006-12-17 17:35:04

hello folks,
just one trick by 2 processor-technic..... but.. ever take new by all workunits.
1) goin taskmanager
2) rightclick on workunit
3) take on/off ......... 1 or 2 processor`s

tip:--> 2 workunits on processor 2 raise the cpu from 100% to 50%
the temperature goes with down.... ;-D

other homework on the computers make on processor 1...

thats all.... i hope you enjoy this.....

comes time... comes a tool with a fine justage from the cpu-throttle....
... i hope so...... for all users.

bb

If I understood correctly, then you can do the exact same by choosing "On multiprocessors, use at most 1 CPU" on BOINC general settings.
noderaser
 
BAM!ID: 13859
Joined: 2006-12-03
Posts: 827
Credits: 174,692,072
World-rank: 5,832

2007-03-23 02:08:11

I do this on my laptop, as it doesn't have sufficient cooling to keep it running at 100% load all of the time. In fact, one of my laptops melted down because of this. But fortunately, it was covered by the warranty; the P4 should shut the system down before it overheats to the point where it would cause damage, but this one did not. Instead, it was overheating so bad that the plastic started to warp, and nearby components (such as the USB interface) started to fail as well.

One problem I've been having as of late, is how to set host preferences up properly. I can't seem to get a host to use anything but the default preferences, even though I've set that host to use a specific (non-default) preference. I'm trying to set it up so that my desktop dual-core machines will use both cores, while my laptop will only use one. Any suggestions?
Dr Who Fan
BAM!ID: 1075
Joined: 2006-05-31
Posts: 717
Credits: 111,468,169
World-rank: 8,005

2007-03-23 16:38:10

Have you mad 2 different location preferences such as one for work and separate one for home for each of the 2 machines and set the proper cpu usage values for each?
noderaser
 
BAM!ID: 13859
Joined: 2006-12-03
Posts: 827
Credits: 174,692,072
World-rank: 5,832

2007-03-24 02:48:22
last modified: 2007-03-24 02:49:14

Yes, and I think I've figured out what the problem is; the BAM! preferences don't seem to be syncing with Predictor@Home. I had to go into the project manually, create the two sets of preferences, and assign them to the hosts. Now, everything seems to be working just fine.
Pages: [1]

Index :: BAM! General :: CPU Overheating
Reason: