Pages: [1]
Dancing Bear
BAM!ID: 89595
Joined: 2010-08-30
Posts: 4
Credits: 820,274
World-rank: 217,968

2010-08-31 20:34:23

Still a little confused by BAM. I had run BOINC in the past, but even just running a portion of the time, my old system tended to overheat. Now much faster, cooler, able to throw background cycles at BOINC again.

So, I recently installed BOINC and found the link to account managers, so here I am. I added my old, existing projects and that went well. Now I'm trying to add a new project. It shows up in my "Project list", but when I tell BOINC Manager to "Synch with BAM", nothing happens. Shouldn't the new project be added to the host's list of projects?

Question: What am I missing?
Suggestion: After adding a project, could/should BAM ask on what hosts the new project ought be run?

Regards,
Curly
BOINCstats SOFA member
BAM!ID: 2588
Joined: 2006-06-26
Posts: 480
Credits: 166,462,268
World-rank: 5,010

2010-08-31 21:09:13

BAM doesn't ask which hosts you want to run the project(s). You need to attach a host to a project.

There are different options.
1. In the project resources you can attach hosts by default to a project. Every host you add to BAM will be attached to the project.
2. In the host list you can select a host (by clicking on a hosts name or BAM ID) and attach this host to project(s).
3. In the project list you can click on the "Show hosts" link and attach one or more hosts.

You need to add the hosts to BAM first. But that's what you have done so far as I understand.
Dancing Bear
BAM!ID: 89595
Joined: 2010-08-30
Posts: 4
Credits: 820,274
World-rank: 217,968

2010-09-01 00:13:36

I guess I just expected once I was successfully added to a new project, BAM would automatically take me to that project's 'Hosts per project' page.

Time to head over to the suggestions forum
Pages: [1]

Index :: BAM! General :: Adding project doesn't update hosts?
Reason: