Pages: [1]
Ian Francis
 
BAM!ID: 43537
Joined: 2008-01-10
Posts: 5
Credits: 4,015,633
World-rank: 94,179

2008-02-10 20:37:08

I recently had a host that needed to be reformatted. It is up and running again with the same hard drive image from before, but BOINC needed to be reinstalled. This gave me two hosts with the same name and specs, but different CPIDs. I merged the old CPID with the new one on each BOINC project page, but it still reads as different hosts on BAM. Will BAM update eventually, is there something I can do, or am I stuck with the host split into two CPIDs. I saw a couple threads on it, but I never saw a definitive answer. Thanks for the help.
[BOINCstats] Willy
 
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9349
Credits: 350,105,493
World-rank: 4,154

2008-02-10 20:50:16

you can simply delete the old host in BAM!.
Please do not PM, IM or email me for support (they will go unread/ignored). Use the forum for support.
Ian Francis
 
BAM!ID: 43537
Joined: 2008-01-10
Posts: 5
Credits: 4,015,633
World-rank: 94,179

2008-02-10 22:52:05

Ok. I just noticed that BAM is catching up to the project info. My old CPID now only has Milkyway@Home stats, everything else transferred. I assume it will be up to date in a couple days. I will delete the old one once all the data transfers. Thanks for the input.
Gerry Rough
 
BAM!ID: 713
Joined: 2006-05-25
Posts: 226
Credits: 6,726,654
World-rank: 67,200

2008-08-12 18:00:02

I have a similar problem: I am upgrading two of my hosts. So, do I need to merge hosts with all of my projects, or do i just wait for BAM to get everything lined up and then delete the old host? Will this then merge the hosts on the projects?

(Click for detailed stats)
[BOINCstats] Willy
 
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9349
Credits: 350,105,493
World-rank: 4,154

2008-08-12 18:08:26

If you are upgrading, then why not copying the BOINC directory to the upgraded system, then install BOINC over it. Then it will retain all your settings, including BAM!, which projects you are attached to and even the workunits. No need to do anything at the projects or in BAM!.
Please do not PM, IM or email me for support (they will go unread/ignored). Use the forum for support.
drolic
BAM!ID: 62302
Joined: 2008-12-03
Posts: 7
Credits: 818,120
World-rank: 233,858

2009-02-15 19:57:11

Will copying the BOINC directory from old install to new work if I move from x86 to x64?

I would download the new x64 version of the BOINC client, install it over the old x32 folder on the new install.

So the old work units could be used, and the client state xml's should have BAM! setings and system will be same host name... but is BOINC client smart enough to go download the x64 app to start work on the work units?

I am currently dealing with a CPID split and dont want to make the problem worse by moving a host around like that but, really really want to move to x64 linux to run GPUGRID on a GT8600GT someone gave me... and GPUGRID does not have a x32 linux application yet.

Thanks,
Drolic
Keck_Komputers
 
BAM!ID: 571
Joined: 2006-05-22
Posts: 178
Credits: 27,268,015
World-rank: 25,007

2009-02-16 06:27:44

Will copying the BOINC directory from old install to new work if I move from x86 to x64?


Yes and No. The client should keep the various ID numbers but all queued work will be aborted.
BOINC WIKI

BOINCing since 2002/12/8
Pages: [1]

Index :: CPID problems :: Merging Hosts in BAM
Reason: