Moved from "BOINCstats general"

Pages: [1]
bono_vox
 
BAM!ID: 65348
Joined: 2009-02-09
Posts: 7
Credits: 0
World-rank: 0

2010-08-24 13:25:56

Hi. One of my oldest hosts (the one with more points) suddenly lost a lot of credit on August 16th. Historically it has participated in 5 projects, but only one was active (WCG). I realized that the WCG credit of the host was gone. At the same time, a new host appeared with the WCG credit. On August 22nd I reactivated QMC on that host to see if that could help, but all the credit from that project went to the new host.

Is this normal? why does this happen? is there something I can do to have all stats "re-associated" with the old host?

Links:

Old (original) host: http://boincstats.com/stats/boinc_host_graph.php?pr=bo&id=48172
New (unwanted) host: http://boincstats.com/stats/boinc_host_graph.php?pr=bo&id=8359988

Thanks in advance!
noderaser
 
BAM!ID: 13859
Joined: 2006-12-03
Posts: 827
Credits: 167,489,114
World-rank: 5,251

2010-08-27 04:16:20

If you're really concerned about your host stats lining up, you could reattach your host to the other projects and the host CPID might line up. But, if you detach those projects your client CPID might change again and you'll be back where you started. Keeping clients aligned properly can be an exercise in futility.
Friedrich S.
BAM!ID: 14296
Joined: 2006-12-09
Posts: 13
Credits: 8,029,115
World-rank: 48,295

2010-09-01 19:28:35

bono_vox wrote:
Hi. One of my oldest hosts (the one with more points) suddenly lost a lot of credit on August 16th. Historically it has participated in 5 projects, but only one was active (WCG). I realized that the WCG credit of the host was gone. At the same time, a new host appeared with the WCG credit. On August 22nd I reactivated QMC on that host to see if that could help, but all the credit from that project went to the new host.
Is this normal? why does this happen? is there something I can do to have all stats "re-associated" with the old host?

Did you install the latest BOINC version (6.10.56/58)?
This split host happened to every single host I installed the above versions to.
And it repeats intself every time I hook up the hosts to a different network (e.g. hotel, back home, friend, back home).
Some people may like to start over frequently, I don't. But thereseems to be nothing you can do...

Friedrich

noderaser
 
BAM!ID: 13859
Joined: 2006-12-03
Posts: 827
Credits: 167,489,114
World-rank: 5,251

2010-09-02 04:13:15

I think we need a little more information from the original poster before making any determination of cause. If you'd like to continue investigating your problem with host CPIDs, why don't you do so in your own thread?
bono_vox
 
BAM!ID: 65348
Joined: 2009-02-09
Posts: 7
Credits: 0
World-rank: 0

2010-09-04 14:51:49

Friedrich S. wrote:

Did you install the latest BOINC version (6.10.56/58)?
This split host happened to every single host I installed the above versions to.


Yes, this happened when I installed v6.10.58. First time this happens, I've been updating the BOINC client forever on many machines and they always keep their original ID.
Friedrich S.
BAM!ID: 14296
Joined: 2006-12-09
Posts: 13
Credits: 8,029,115
World-rank: 48,295

2010-09-06 20:41:48
last modified: 2010-09-06 20:42:30

Hello noderaser,
noderaser wrote:
I think we need a little more information from the original poster before making any determination of cause. If you'd like to continue investigating your problem with host CPIDs, why don't you do so in your own thread?

I am not sure if you are talking to me, but let me answer anyway.
a. It seems that except for you and me so far nobody else seems to be able/willing to comment or help. So why shouldn't I comment?
b. I had opened my own thread on this in the BOINC section of this forum, but there, too, nobody was able/willing to comment or help.
c. It seems - looking at the next post by bono_vox - that my guess may have been right. At least I have not seen any better explanation yet.


My hunch - after having that very same effect on every machine I installed BOINC 6.10.56/.58 to - is that this is a BOINC bug. (That is where I opened my thread.) And like bono_vox this is a new thing that started with 6.10.56. I have upated BOINC amyn times on many machines before, but they always kept their ID. But not with 6.10.56/058 under Win XP, Win Vista or Win 7.

But if you have a better explanation, I am happy to hear about it as it annoys me severly that my hosts are split after the update and start to split again with every change of the network (e.g. home to hotel to home).


Friedrich


bono_vox
 
BAM!ID: 65348
Joined: 2009-02-09
Posts: 7
Credits: 0
World-rank: 0

2010-09-12 02:36:20

I totally agree with you Friedrich. There's something weird going on with the latest BOINC versions that affects hosts stats.

It's important to mention that there are NOT multiple hosts (that could be merged) on the projects websites. It seems to only mess with stats on sites like BOINCstats and allprojectstats.com.

Although this is not very important (at least for me) I hope someone (read: BOINC developers) can look into it and find a solution.
Euphoriabuzz
    Donator
BAM!ID: 82102
Joined: 2010-03-01
Posts: 93
Credits: 350,366,286
World-rank: 3,090

2010-09-13 16:51:32

Hi, I have also had this problem and had two new hosts generated on the same day for WCG and one for Gerasim, and one other which has now gone again (chess960) as I allowed the project to download a new wu. I can only assume once a new WCG and Gerasim wu have downloaded and completed that all will be resolved.













Friedrich S.
BAM!ID: 14296
Joined: 2006-12-09
Posts: 13
Credits: 8,029,115
World-rank: 48,295

2010-09-13 20:15:17

Euphoriabuzz wrote:
Hi, I have also had this problem and had two new hosts generated on the same day for WCG and one for Gerasim, and one other which has now gone again (chess960) as I allowed the project to download a new wu. I can only assume once a new WCG and Gerasim wu have downloaded and completed that all will be resolved.

I found that over the course of a few days the hosts merged under the newest ID, but only for active projects.
I am currently running SIMAP only, and my split hosts have not merged yet...
I also switched from Win7 64bit to Win7 32bit on one host. I hope this will eventuelly merge, too.


Friedrich
noderaser
 
BAM!ID: 13859
Joined: 2006-12-03
Posts: 827
Credits: 167,489,114
World-rank: 5,251

2010-09-15 04:50:22

Friedrich S. wrote:
I also switched from Win7 64bit to Win7 32bit on one host. I hope this will eventuelly merge, too.


Not at this time; you can't merge computers with a different OS. I have a couple hosts on my account where I have upgraded to a newer version of the OS, have switched Windows and Linux, and so on.
Titgoutte
 
Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 22396
Joined: 2007-04-01
Posts: 75
Credits: 24,715,842
World-rank: 20,589

2010-10-31 10:16:17


I have two machines active, iMac and MacBook Pro, and they have lately been split into several hosts. I don't know exactly when this happened, becaus I don't look at machine stats that often.
"Host list" shows properly two active machines, but Host stats shows 13 machines (of which the Windows machines are inactive)
Link to my Host stats

Eewec
BAM!ID: 91592
Joined: 2010-10-15
Posts: 2
Credits: 448,527
World-rank: 297,968

2010-11-01 10:16:02
last modified: 2010-11-01 10:20:38

Heh.. I know that feeling.

As can be seen [url=http://boincstats.com/stats/compare_graph.php?pr=bo&table=hosts&id[]=10098660&id[]=9631171&id[]=8469306]here[/url]:

noderaser
 
BAM!ID: 13859
Joined: 2006-12-03
Posts: 827
Credits: 167,489,114
World-rank: 5,251

2010-11-02 02:06:44

Sometimes, this is caused when you have a host listing at projects for which the host is no longer attached; the host is assigned a new ID for some reason, and the projects no longer attached don't get updated to the new ID. Sometimes, you just get a new ID at all the projects because of any number of factors. For the latter case, all you have to do is merge the hosts and the projects where they exist. For the former, you might have to attach all of the projects to your host, even if temporarily (not doing any work).
Friedrich S.
BAM!ID: 14296
Joined: 2006-12-09
Posts: 13
Credits: 8,029,115
World-rank: 48,295

2010-11-10 21:35:17

As I said above, this splitting of hosts in the host list appeared with the recent versions of BOINC first after updating to version 6.10.56 or .58. It happened for all my clients when I updated them.
Since then it happens - at least for me - every time I attach the computers to a different network. (I use my laptop at different locations.) The fact that the host has a new IP address makes BOINC believe it is a new host.

The hosts do not split in the projects, but along the projects. So there is noting to merge at the projects.
They do eventually merge again automatically, project after project, under the newest host ID, as long as the host contacts all projects...
This also happens not only at BOINCstats but also at other stats sites, which makes this most likely a BOINC bug.

Friedrich

Pages: [1]

Index :: CPID problems :: Host split?
Reason: