Pages: [1]
[BOINCstats] Willy
 
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9137
Credits: 348,241,820
World-rank: 2,999

2008-08-08 14:54:00

Rytis and I are thinking about “upgrading” our co-location to our own server cabinet in the datacenter. Currently our servers are scattered around the server floor which does not make things easier. PrimeGrid needs to get an additional server and possibly BOINCstats as well, so a cabinet could be very handy.

But, in contrast to co-location, for a cabinet the energy usage is not included in the base price. Instead, all kWh’s are charged . So, we started thinking, that’s an unknown cost since we have no idea what the energy usage is of our current and future servers.

Well, I found the solution in a kWh meter, just got it, and I started playing with it (of course!).

Since I’ve seen the question pop up from time to time (what does BOINC cost?) I’ll post the measurements below. If you have a kWh meter yourself, please post yours as well. It’ll be a valuable source of information for those with “the” question.
Please do not PM, IM or email me for support (they will go unread/ignored). Use the forum for support.
[BOINCstats] Willy
 
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9137
Credits: 348,241,820
World-rank: 2,999

2008-08-08 15:02:25
last modified: 2008-08-10 11:51:04

My home server (W2K3 x64, no EIST):
- Intel Core2Quad Q6700 (2.66GHz, not overclocked)
- 3GB DDR2
- 3 harddrives
- Onboard graphics
- 550W PSU

Idle (no BOINC): 101W = 0.101kWh
Load (with BOINC): 178W = 0.178kWh

Difference: 77W = 0.077kWh

When I abuse the system when BOINC is running (heavy hard disk usage) the load goes up to 183W
Please do not PM, IM or email me for support (they will go unread/ignored). Use the forum for support.
[BOINCstats] Willy
 
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9137
Credits: 348,241,820
World-rank: 2,999

2008-08-09 17:08:53
last modified: 2008-08-10 11:50:49

My workstation (at home, Vista x64, no PowerNow):
- AMD Phenom 9750 (2.2GHz, overclocked to an amazing 2,22GHz)
- 4GB DDR2
- 2 harddrives
- ATi Radeon HD 3400
- 550W PSU

Idle (no BOINC): 176W = 0.176kWh
Load (with BOINC): 253W = 0.253kWh

Difference: 77W = 0.077kWh

Thus I find out that my Phenom uses just as much energy while idle as my Core2Quad at full load . Not happy about that.

Also note that the difference between load and idle is the same for both systems.

When I put some pressure on the Phenom (HD activity) it's consuming 264W.

And now I see that I don't have any 3D stuff installed to test with the graphic card under load. I'll get back on this.
Please do not PM, IM or email me for support (they will go unread/ignored). Use the forum for support.
Guest

2008-08-10 07:37:23

Well, I found the solution in a kWh meter, just got it, and I started playing with it (of course!).

Since I’ve seen the question pop up from time to time (what does BOINC cost?) I’ll post the measurements below. If you have a kWh meter yourself, please post yours as well. It’ll be a valuable source of information for those with “the” question.


well, done this some time ago..

first you have to consider effiency of power supplys. then you have to look @ components installed: CPUs, RAMs, GPUs, HDs and so on.

2nd: EVERYTHING needs energy. modern GPU-Boards have huge demands even on an idle desktop. chipset-graphics run much cheaper.

nice example: QMC with its OGL-scr active goes up 50 watts on my P4 with an 6800GT.


i remeber my dell SC1430 (DUAL E5320, 2 HDs) running a 255 watts. which is pretty efficient compared to the old P4-930 with 2 HDs also and an 6800GT running @280 watts.


i did not check that new Q9450 yet..


btw.: i found that my old iiyama monitor consumed 10 Watts even in POWER-off mode. that big switch does not cut primary of its PSU.

frank.
Guest

2008-08-10 11:34:29

ok, now i checked that new one:

C2Q 9450 overclocked @2.93 GHz, 2* 1GB Ram, SAMSUNG 500GB SATA drive, Geforce 9600 GT 1GB 550 watt PSU:

PSU-ON, system off : 10 watts
WINx64 running - idle : 110 watts
BOINC running 4 ABCs : 160 watts )


comment 1: consumption in "normal" use could be better because i disabled use of EIST.

comment 2: boinc performance may vary amoung projects - ABC ist pure integer-crunching - ABC for instance has higher demands.

comment 3: to build a "green" cruncher, i would not take a GPU like that.



frank.
ritterm
    Donator
Tester - BOINCstats SOFA member
BAM!ID: 53610
Joined: 2008-06-03
Posts: 1771
Credits: 1,037,302,081
World-rank: 1,318

2008-08-11 16:07:54
last modified: 2008-08-11 16:08:20

What can either of you gents tell us about the device you're using? I think I've heard of in-line or wrap-around (clamp?) units, but I know nothing about what might be appropriate for home use or cost.
Guest

2008-08-11 16:14:56

What can either of you gents tell us about the device you're using? I think I've heard of in-line or wrap-around (clamp?) units, but I know nothing about what might be appropriate for home use or cost.


i got one of these:

http://www.amazon.de/Unitec-EIM-812-Energiekostenmessger%C3%A4t-Strommesser/dp/B000SLUS30

dozends of modells available - 10 to 20 euros..


frank.




[BOINCstats] Willy
 
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9137
Credits: 348,241,820
World-rank: 2,999

2008-08-11 17:04:20

What can either of you gents tell us about the device you're using? I think I've heard of in-line or wrap-around (clamp?) units, but I know nothing about what might be appropriate for home use or cost.


This is mine: N.EL-EPM01 - Verbruiksmeter - Energiemeter (warning: Dutch language alert!).

Please do not PM, IM or email me for support (they will go unread/ignored). Use the forum for support.
Guest

2008-08-11 21:35:45

This is mine: N.EL-EPM01 - Verbruiksmeter - Energiemeter (warning: Dutch language alert!).


didn't help - i allmost wetted my pants when reading..
Pages: [1]

Index :: Gadgets, Games and Gizmos :: Computer energy usage
Reason: