Pages: [1]
walli
BAM!ID: 133981
Joined: 2012-10-30
Posts: 17
Credits: 7,214,913,069
World-rank: 331

2019-07-20 18:25:15
last modified: 2019-07-20 19:04:12

Hi Willy,

sorry for my bad words in the shoutbox. Here are some points why I struggle so much with the new design:

- I find it very annoying to be forced to use the hamburger menu if my screen resolution is below X pixels in width and/or depending on other elements (or whatever solution you are using, I didn't look at it); and then the menu covers the underlying text
- I don't like it when all words are in capital letters (left menu), I find it difficult to read and it no longer respects the original spelling/writing of the project title anymore (e.g. "SETI@home", "Einstein@Home" etc.)
- Why do the items of "ACTIVE PROJECTS" and "RETIRED PROJECTS" have different text styles (bigger, bold...) than the items of the other menus?
- In my opinion there is now too much unused/wasted space all over the website (i.e. in the left menu), or around headers, options, buttons, ...
- Why can't I expand all menu items at once? Currently I can only expand one, the one before closes automatically
- As a colour blind person I don't like it when there are too many bright colours used (especially for the background or light grey boxes or lines here and there) and the website in general suffers from a good separation of all the different site elements (compared to the classic style), e.g. the headlines... (see the point before regarding space wasting). On the other hand, there are sometimes lines and other elements to separate things where no separation is needed at all
- And because of the so much wasted space I have to click and scroll so much around to find the old options/links/entrys whatever... Oh, I miss the good old tabs, now there are menus -> submenus -> subsubmenus...
- The new little icons on the menu are too close to the text and... are they really needed?
- ...

I prefer to have everything in a more or less compact overview as it was before.

That's why I think that there is also no need for a long "text version" of each project under "STATUS SCHEDULERS" which tells me "Online, Offline, Work available...", Too much to "read" for this kind of information (-> RED or GREEN colour as before help a lot), too much wasted time (and space again) . Ok, I had also problems to distinguish the old coloured indicator dots, but all I needed to know was if a project was "Online" or "Offline".

I have no idea how good the new design works on mobile devices, but on the desktop it is - for me - a step back. It's not that I'm lost, but now it is definitely a lot more combersome to get to the desired information than before.

That's my first impression.

Best wishes,

walli
[BOINCstats] Willy
 
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9136
Credits: 348,241,820
World-rank: 2,971

2019-07-20 18:30:53

Thanks for this, I will use your suggestions and will make some changes.
Please do not PM, IM or email me for support (they will go unread/ignored). Use the forum for support.
walli
BAM!ID: 133981
Joined: 2012-10-30
Posts: 17
Credits: 7,214,913,069
World-rank: 331

2019-07-20 19:00:04
last modified: 2019-07-20 19:05:41

Oha, I'm currently on one of the project sites where I can alter options for my hosts (the matrix where you can "Attach" a host or set it to "No new work", "Do not use CPU", etc.) and the new "pop up" menu is really time consuming! I used to check or uncheck options quickly, now there are so many more clicks needed for that...

And: No matter what host I select, I can only edit the settings for the first host I've clicked in this list (and these settings are not even saved). Some script broken?

And all CPUs of all hosts are "Unknown". Some problems with the database?
dogged1
BAM!ID: 178559
Joined: 2014-12-31
Posts: 2
Credits: 927,855,876
World-rank: 1,418

2019-07-20 19:07:28

walli wrote:

- I find it very annoying to be forced to use the hamburger menu if my screen resolution is below X pixels in width and/or depending on other elements (or whatever solution you are using, I didn't look at it); and then the menu covers the underlying text
- I don't like it when all words are in capital letters (left menu), I find it difficult to read and it no longer respects the original spelling/writing of the project title anymore (e.g. "SETI@home", "Einstein@Home" etc.)
- In my opinion there is now too much unused/wasted space all over the website (i.e. in the left menu), or around headers, options, buttons, ...
- And because of the so much wasted space I have to click and scroll so much around to find the old options/links/entrys whatever... Oh, I miss the good old tabs, now there are menus -> submenus -> subsubmenus...

I prefer to have everything in a more or less compact overview as it was before.


I have no idea how good the new design works on mobile devices, but on the desktop it is - for me - a step back. It's not that I'm lost, but now it is definitely a lot more combersome to get to the desired information than before.


Agreed on all these points.

As a data-intensive site for enthusiasts, there is no need to have so much whitespace - it just makes the pages bigger and more difficult to navigate on small-to-medium sized screens.

The list of tabs was relatively short, so menus do not simplify the navigation process. Reviewing personal stats now takes twice as many clicks (plus a menu pop-up).
[BOINCstats] Willy
 
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9136
Credits: 348,241,820
World-rank: 2,971

2019-07-21 07:17:50

walli wrote:

- I don't like it when all words are in capital letters (left menu), I find it difficult to read and it no longer respects the original spelling/writing of the project title anymore (e.g. "SETI@home", "Einstein@Home" etc.)

No more all uppercase.
Please do not PM, IM or email me for support (they will go unread/ignored). Use the forum for support.
[BOINCstats] Willy
 
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9136
Credits: 348,241,820
World-rank: 2,971

2019-07-21 07:19:57

walli wrote:

- Why do the items of "ACTIVE PROJECTS" and "RETIRED PROJECTS" have different text styles (bigger, bold...) than the items of the other menus?

All menu items have the same style. Only Donate, F.A.Q. and Forum are different because they are links, no menus.
Please do not PM, IM or email me for support (they will go unread/ignored). Use the forum for support.
[BOINCstats] Willy
 
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9136
Credits: 348,241,820
World-rank: 2,971

2019-07-21 07:25:30

walli wrote:

- The new little icons on the menu are too close to the text and... are they really needed?

Not needed but I like them there. Added a space between them and the text though.
Please do not PM, IM or email me for support (they will go unread/ignored). Use the forum for support.
[BOINCstats] Willy
 
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9136
Credits: 348,241,820
World-rank: 2,971

2019-07-21 08:38:28

walli wrote:

Oh, I miss the good old tabs, now there are menus -> submenus -> subsubmenus...

Tabs are back, sub sub menu is gone.
Please do not PM, IM or email me for support (they will go unread/ignored). Use the forum for support.
HighTech67
 
BAM!ID: 31107
Joined: 2007-07-24
Posts: 2
Credits: 101,068,817
World-rank: 7,210

2019-07-21 09:27:19

walli wrote:

And: No matter what host I select, I can only edit the settings for the first host I've clicked in this list (and these settings are not even saved). Some script broken?


I've got the no saved settings problem also. I'm using the latest version of Chrome on Window 7 if that makes a difference.

And agreed on the "pop up" whatever you call it. Annoying and time consuming waste of code just like all the white space.

Please return to the old format.
[BOINCstats] Willy
 
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9136
Credits: 348,241,820
World-rank: 2,971

2019-07-21 10:04:13

walli wrote:
And: No matter what host I select, I can only edit the settings for the first host I've clicked in this list (and these settings are not even saved). Some script broken?

It was just a visual issue, the popup retained the first submitted details, fixed now.

walli wrote:
And all CPUs of all hosts are "Unknown". Some problems with the database?

Also fixed (was also broken in the old layout).
Please do not PM, IM or email me for support (they will go unread/ignored). Use the forum for support.
HighTech67
 
BAM!ID: 31107
Joined: 2007-07-24
Posts: 2
Credits: 101,068,817
World-rank: 7,210

2019-07-21 11:25:56

[BOINCstats Willy wrote:

walli wrote:
And: No matter what host I select, I can only edit the settings for the first host I've clicked in this list (and these settings are not even saved). Some script broken?

It was just a visual issue, the popup retained the first submitted details, fixed now.


Still can't save anything using Chrome, at least I can't change the Resource Share on the two hosts I've tried in the one project I've tried to do it in, CAS@Home. Change doesn't show on the website even after refreshing of the page, nor do they update on the hosts during sync.

And the options that are saved in BAM from whenever on the same project, or are at least showing on the website, No New Work for the same two hosts, don't update to the hosts when I sync them with BAM.
Dirk Broer
 
BAM!ID: 117974
Joined: 2012-03-01
Posts: 286
Credits: 4,064,812,899
World-rank: 454

2019-07-21 11:26:37
last modified: 2019-07-21 11:27:49

The new interface shows all changes in rankings as green, going up. There is no red, going down EVEN WHEN IT SHOULD BE SO.
Looks keep improving though, it is looking much better today than it was yesterday .
[BOINCstats] Willy
 
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9136
Credits: 348,241,820
World-rank: 2,971

2019-07-21 11:39:11

Dirk Broer wrote:

The new interface shows all changes in rankings as green, going up. There is no red, going down EVEN WHEN IT SHOULD BE SO.

Fixed.
Please do not PM, IM or email me for support (they will go unread/ignored). Use the forum for support.
gemini8
BAM!ID: 101557
Joined: 2011-06-14
Posts: 31
Credits: 424,855,781
World-rank: 2,537

2019-07-21 18:42:55

While I still don't like the new design on my desktop computers, it works quite nicely on my mobile.
In fact, I think it is a real improvement there!
- - - - - - - - - - -
Greetings, Jens
gemini8
BAM!ID: 101557
Joined: 2011-06-14
Posts: 31
Credits: 424,855,781
World-rank: 2,537

2019-08-11 07:46:50

Good morning.
I may be sort of repeating myself here, but I want to point out that having both the classic and the new design to choose from is quite nice.
The familiar interface for the desktop which has been around for quite a while is great on wide screens, and especially the host and project lists are easily to handle.
On mobile devices with small screens (I'm using a Samsung Mini) the use of the existing, litte space has become much better after implementing the new interface, and it's not necessary anymore to scroll, resize and whatnot to be able to do what you want to do.
Thanks a lot, Willy!
- - - - - - - - - - -
Greetings, Jens
Pages: [1]

Index :: Comments and suggestions :: The new BOINCstats design
Reason: