Pages: [1]
RogerBKL
BAM!ID: 72125
Joined: 2009-07-16
Posts: 2
Credits: 2,018
World-rank: 2,428,285

2010-01-13 10:00:58

The "Project resources" menu is far from self-explanatory. Consider this scenario:

You add a project through your local boinc manager. Later you go to boincstats to set the percentage of your CPU resources it will receive.
You find that it's not there, so you go to "sign-up for projects" and is careful to select "find account".

All well so far. Then you go to "project resources" and find that the new project is listed.
You adjust its resource share and click update. But this will have the effect of detaching the new project from your local computer!

I'm not sure if this is a problem that could be solved by better default settings in the menu or if boincstats ignores or lacks information from the boinc manager. And the problem would of course go away if you always attach projects through boincstats and never the boinc manager. But that's not the path most newcomers will take. They first install the boinc manager and familiarize themselves with it, boincstats comes as a later, valuable addition.
noderaser
 
BAM!ID: 13859
Joined: 2006-12-03
Posts: 827
Credits: 168,250,942
World-rank: 5,306

2010-01-14 02:54:00

Changing the resource share from the BAM website shouldn't detach your client from the project. However, if you have your BOINC client attached to an account manager, you cannot manually add projects from within the client without it being detached when the project manager synchronizes.
Saenger
 
Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 5
Joined: 2006-01-10
Posts: 1735
Credits: 99,908,308
World-rank: 7,633

2010-01-14 05:42:58

noderaser wrote:
Changing the resource share from the BAM website shouldn't detach your client from the project. However, if you have your BOINC client attached to an account manager, you cannot manually add projects from within the client without it being detached when the project manager synchronizes.

If I attached them before they were added to BAM! I never had problems with a detach, and as an ATA I've done it quite often. Last project I added to BAM! after crunching 40K credits was RNA and I just "found existing account", BAM! contacted about half a day afterwards and I was still attached after that.

I didn't change anything here for that project in the ~half day between adding it and automatically updating my client with BAM! the next morning, perhaps that's the fault. But I really don't see any need for changes at an existing and already running project in the few hours between just adding it to the BAM!-account and the next contact.
Grüße vom Sänger
RogerBKL
BAM!ID: 72125
Joined: 2009-07-16
Posts: 2
Credits: 2,018
World-rank: 2,428,285

2010-01-15 12:39:22

noderaser wrote:
Changing the resource share from the BAM website shouldn't detach your client from the project. However, if you have your BOINC client attached to an account manager, you cannot manually add projects from within the client without it being detached when the project manager synchronizes.


Ah, it's more of a BOINC problem then. It shouldn't allow adding projects when it "knows" it's being "remote controlled" by BAM.
Gundolf Jahn
 
BAM!ID: 16586
Joined: 2007-01-07
Posts: 469
Credits: 447,470
World-rank: 300,947

2010-01-15 14:23:35
last modified: 2010-01-15 14:26:01

RogerBKL wrote:
Ah, it's more of a BOINC problem then. It shouldn't allow adding projects when it "knows" it's being "remote controlled" by BAM.

With my 5.10.45 BOINC manager, I get
Attach to project (local override)

If possible, add projects at the
BOINCstats BAM! web site.

Projects added via this wizard will not be
listed on or managed via BOINCstats BAM!.


To continue, click Next.

Doesn't this warning appear any longer with newer versions?

Gruß,
Gundolf
Computer sind nicht alles im Leben. (Kleiner Scherz)
Saenger
 
Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 5
Joined: 2006-01-10
Posts: 1735
Credits: 99,908,308
World-rank: 7,633

2010-01-15 14:41:57

RogerBKL wrote:
Ah, it's more of a BOINC problem then. It shouldn't allow adding projects when it "knows" it's being "remote controlled" by BAM.

No, definitely not, is has to allow such things.
There are always projects in some stage of testing that isn't yet ready to be open, let alone to be mentioned on some sites like this one or, even worse, in BAM!. How should testers, that use BAM!, crunch for those projects?
Grüße vom Sänger
noderaser
 
BAM!ID: 13859
Joined: 2006-12-03
Posts: 827
Credits: 168,250,942
World-rank: 5,306

2010-01-16 03:29:33
last modified: 2010-01-16 03:38:42

IIRC, this happens to projects that are connected to BAM, but are not set in BAM to be working on said host. Thus, when the client connects to BAM and sees that you are attached to X project but under BAM host preferences X project is set to detach/delayed detach, BAM tells the client to drop said project.

This would not be the case with projects not managed by BAM, as I myself am attached to such a project (ORE/Renderfarm.fi) and have experienced no involuntary detaches.
Saenger
 
Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 5
Joined: 2006-01-10
Posts: 1735
Credits: 99,908,308
World-rank: 7,633

2010-01-16 17:33:52

I was attached to RNA World long before it was listed here.
I let BAM! look up my accountafter it came to BAM!, and didn't do anything else.
After the next contact RNA was still on my computer, and now as well here in my BAM! settings.
Grüße vom Sänger
Pages: [1]

Index :: Comments and suggestions :: Prone to mistakes in project resources menu
Reason: