Pages: [1]
PieBandit
BAM!ID: 24050
Joined: 2007-04-25
Posts: 13
Credits: 1,481,885
World-rank: 167,479

2007-06-17 21:04:55

http://www.boincstats.com/stats/boinc_user_graph.php?pr=bo&id=5ca321cfe5781aadc024348632f36c67

I've been a member of the team WPI for several weeks, and if you investigate the team itself (by searching) you can see that I'm clearly still a member. the individual projects still have it linked. Ive tried unjoiningand rejoining the teams ,but no luck: it stilll won't display.

It's been like this ever since the announcement hey were editing some DB tables. I waited to see if it would fix itself, but it hasn't yet
[BOINCstats] Willy
 
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9289
Credits: 349,822,518
World-rank: 3,897

2007-06-17 21:12:15
last modified: 2007-06-17 21:14:24

You are not a member of the team in Predictor and RALPH. Unfortunately, one if those is randomly selected by MySQL to use for BOINC team stats.
Please do not PM, IM or email me for support (they will go unread/ignored). Use the forum for support.
[BOINCstats] Willy
 
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9289
Credits: 349,822,518
World-rank: 3,897

2007-06-17 21:18:16

I made a change to the update script so that MySQL will always find a team when one is present in the projects. I hope this won't start mass team member movement again.
Please do not PM, IM or email me for support (they will go unread/ignored). Use the forum for support.
PieBandit
BAM!ID: 24050
Joined: 2007-04-25
Posts: 13
Credits: 1,481,885
World-rank: 167,479

2007-06-18 23:34:33
last modified: 2007-06-18 23:38:26

it appeared to have been resolved around 13:00 EST, but then it reverted back to N/A on the teams.

As for the lack of Teams on two, I don't crunch those anymore, and I joined teams afterwords
Trog Dog
 
Volunteer tester
BAM!ID: 206
Joined: 2006-05-11
Posts: 119
Credits: 66,172,318
World-rank: 12,557

2007-06-19 22:30:58

You are not a member of the team in Predictor and RALPH. Unfortunately, one if those is randomly selected by MySQL to use for BOINC team stats.


Is this the new way that team membership is decided?

I recently (before the changes to the way it was decided) started changing my team from BOINC@AUSTRALIA to FREE TIBET/TIBET LIBRE and throughout the upheavals was picked up as being a Tibet member in combined stats. Today, though, I'm back as being classified as a member of B@A for combined stats.

Do I have to drop B@A completely to be classified as a Tibet member, or is this just a temporary glitch?
[BOINCstats] Willy
 
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9289
Credits: 349,822,518
World-rank: 3,897

2007-06-20 04:56:19

Team names from all projects are lower cased, then hashed. From these hashed, the one with the highest value (to prevent selecting a project where the user is not a member of a team) is selected as the team for BOINC combined stats.

This means that any project can be the one that brings forth the BOINC combined team, even if you haven't crunched for the project in years.

If you want to do a good team change, do it in all projects. There is a great tool to do that very quickly, it's named BAM!.
Please do not PM, IM or email me for support (they will go unread/ignored). Use the forum for support.
Trog Dog
 
Volunteer tester
BAM!ID: 206
Joined: 2006-05-11
Posts: 119
Credits: 66,172,318
World-rank: 12,557

2007-06-20 11:42:38

Team names from all projects are lower cased, then hashed. From these hashed, the one with the highest value (to prevent selecting a project where the user is not a member of a team) is selected as the team for BOINC combined stats.

This means that any project can be the one that brings forth the BOINC combined team, even if you haven't crunched for the project in years.

If you want to do a good team change, do it in all projects. There is a great tool to do that very quickly, it's named BAM!.


Thanks for the reply Willy

BTW, I did use BAM! to change my team membership, however, as FREE TIBET/TIBET LIBRE is still a new and small team it is not formed in every project.

So I guess from what you have said I will have to be teamless in those projects where the Tibet team isn't yet formed. Is it possible to use BAM! to do this or do I have to unjoin BOINC@AUSTRALIA manually at each project.
MacDitch
 
BAM!ID: 198
Joined: 2006-05-11
Posts: 116
Credits: 4,309,563
World-rank: 87,558

2007-06-20 15:11:37

So I guess from what you have said I will have to be teamless in those projects where the Tibet team isn't yet formed. Is it possible to use BAM! to do this or do I have to unjoin BOINC@AUSTRALIA manually at each project.


Or you could create the missing team on the projects you require.
Honza
BAM!ID: 109
Joined: 2006-05-10
Posts: 154
Credits: 5,689,581,133
World-rank: 499

2007-06-20 15:15:47
last modified: 2007-06-20 15:16:02

Accidentally found that my team members has changed to Czech National Team but I'm a member of BOINC.sk team.

When checked with BAM!|Teams page I found that on Orbit and WEP, team name actually shows team number.
(there are some projects where BOINC.sk team is not founded so there is no membership in a team).

Who BAM figured out and put me into CNT is still mystery for me...
Trog Dog
 
Volunteer tester
BAM!ID: 206
Joined: 2006-05-11
Posts: 119
Credits: 66,172,318
World-rank: 12,557

2007-06-24 11:53:34



Thanks for the reply Willy

BTW, I did use BAM! to change my team membership, however, as FREE TIBET/TIBET LIBRE is still a new and small team it is not formed in every project.

So I guess from what you have said I will have to be teamless in those projects where the Tibet team isn't yet formed. Is it possible to use BAM! to do this or do I have to unjoin BOINC@AUSTRALIA manually at each project.


OK, I've jetisoned my old team completely (both on the individual project websites and through BAM!) yet my combined stats still show me as being a member of my old team (BOINC@AUSTRALIA).


Son Goku 3SSJ
 
Forum moderator - Translator
BAM!ID: 8
Joined: 2006-01-11
Posts: 182
Credits: 2,572,985
World-rank: 121,380

2007-06-24 11:57:43


OK, I've jetisoned my old team completely (both on the individual project websites and through BAM!) yet my combined stats still show me as being a member of my old team (BOINC@AUSTRALIA).

That's because you are still listed as a member of BOINC@AUSTRALIA in LHC because they do not export stats yet. You'll to wait until they export their stats and the problem will be solved.
part of
Wenn jeder an sich denkt, wird an alle gedacht!
MacDitch
 
BAM!ID: 198
Joined: 2006-05-11
Posts: 116
Credits: 4,309,563
World-rank: 87,558

2007-06-25 07:06:02

Willy, is it possible (or worthwhile) to excuse LHC from the 'team selection' process? It just seems to be causing a lot of problems/queries and it could be any length of time before LHC gets sorted out again...
Trog Dog
 
Volunteer tester
BAM!ID: 206
Joined: 2006-05-11
Posts: 119
Credits: 66,172,318
World-rank: 12,557

2007-06-30 01:37:49


OK, I've jetisoned my old team completely (both on the individual project websites and through BAM!) yet my combined stats still show me as being a member of my old team (BOINC@AUSTRALIA).

That's because you are still listed as a member of BOINC@AUSTRALIA in LHC because they do not export stats yet. You'll to wait until they export their stats and the problem will be solved.


And after the LHC update everything remains the same - ie. still as a member of the wrong team in combined stats.

The only other page that has me as a member of B@A is the Teams page (BAM!) which refuses to/can't update WCG. I know BAM! doesn't fully work with WCG, but if it can't read a change in team how did it read the team in the first place? Maybe these two issues are linked somehow.

[BOINCstats] Willy
 
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9289
Credits: 349,822,518
World-rank: 3,897

2007-06-30 05:18:22

The stats pages take their information from the projects XML files, not from the BAM! database. So if BAM! the team changes in BAM!, that doesn't mean the XML is updated as well.
Please do not PM, IM or email me for support (they will go unread/ignored). Use the forum for support.
Son Goku 3SSJ
 
Forum moderator - Translator
BAM!ID: 8
Joined: 2006-01-11
Posts: 182
Credits: 2,572,985
World-rank: 121,380

2007-06-30 07:47:42

You are also member of BOINC@Australia in two other projects: Nanohive and ABC@home beta
part of
Wenn jeder an sich denkt, wird an alle gedacht!
Trog Dog
 
Volunteer tester
BAM!ID: 206
Joined: 2006-05-11
Posts: 119
Credits: 66,172,318
World-rank: 12,557

2007-07-07 11:34:29

You are also member of BOINC@Australia in two other projects: Nanohive and ABC@home beta


Nanohive has updated and now correctly shows as no team - guess I'll have to wait for ABC beta to do a stats export.
zombie67
BAM!ID: 1560
Joined: 2006-06-04
Posts: 606
Credits: 170,293,364,772
World-rank: 47

2007-07-08 01:24:40

Nanohive has updated and now correctly shows as no team - guess I'll have to wait for ABC beta to do a stats export.

According to Hendrik, "It should be up again soon to test new code."
Reno, NV
Team: SETI.USA
Pages: [1]

Index :: BOINCstats Bug Report :: Team missing in boinc combind stat
Reason: