Pages: [1]
[BOINCstats] Willy
 
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9136
Credits: 348,241,820
World-rank: 2,972

2011-05-07 06:48:35

Comments on the following newsitem
We had a couple of hours downtime yesterday and last night. Also, the website is becoming slower by the day. I figured out the problem, which is hardware related. The RAID controller in the web server looses connection with the system at times. The only remedy is to reboot the server when it happens.

Fortunately, a new web server will be build soon to replace the current server. Till it's in place we may run into more downtime. I expect the new server to be up and running in a little over two weeks.
http://boincstats.com/page/project_news.php?pr=bs#4151
[BOINCstats] Willy
 
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9136
Credits: 348,241,820
World-rank: 2,972

2011-05-07 08:48:12

It's getting worse by the hour. I'm now going to get the harddrives for the new webservers and make the webserver a higher priority than the databaseserver.
Please do not PM, IM or email me for support (they will go unread/ignored). Use the forum for support.
[BOINCstats] Willy
 
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9136
Credits: 348,241,820
World-rank: 2,972

2011-05-08 00:53:35

So, a little after 18:00 (my time, in GMT it would be 16:00) the webserver took its final breath.

That forced me to move ahead with one of the new webservers much much sooner than I wanted. The result is a poorly configured server which is dead slow.

Anyway, where are we now?
All data hosted on the old webserver is recovered to the new webserver, nothing is lost! Stats data is imported from the database server (I will import host data when that update is completed!). There will be no incremental updates until at least after I had some sleep!

I'm playing a bit with the mysql and apache settings at the moment, the site may go down a few times.

I'm aware that a lot of charts and images are incorrect or showing "invalid ID". This is because you were all very impatient and started requesting charts and sigs when the database was not in place yet. These errors will be gone when the cache is purged after a next update.

While I type this I notice I'm quite tired and to avoid stupid mistakes I may take a couple of hours of sleep.

The updateserver is still running updates, just not sending it to the webserver. So eventually, all will be fine!

Please use this thread to point me to errors in the site. Please avoid duplicate reports!

Error 1: no hosts stats!
Please do not PM, IM or email me for support (they will go unread/ignored). Use the forum for support.
Zydor
    Donator
Tester
BAM!ID: 65177
Joined: 2009-02-06
Posts: 275
Credits: 2,140,539,821
World-rank: 747

2011-05-08 02:23:26
last modified: 2011-05-08 03:19:21

A few for you. I have refered my detailed stats page to show some of them

Team & Country

Detailed Stats Page Example

- Look down the page to the Country and Team Stats Section. Team Title missing, and the % Contribution totals not recording correctly in Team and Country. That one cascades to all pages/sub pages where those kinds of % totals are shown (project specific, team specific etc etc - all the different slice & dice options for those % totals.
- Click on "United Kingdom" - problem is self evident - says it doesnt exist [I'll mail the PM he has a Problem ].


PrimeGrid - a few PG related, looks like symptomatic of same or similar issue - all the "offlines" shown, were in fact online at time of this post.

- BAM Menu - Teams - PG shown as off line

- Other Menu Option - Project Status - PG shown as "offline since 2011-05-07 20:30:08"

- List of Project Sites on the bottom left Margin - PG shown as offline


Below "PayPal Donate " Logo

- Stats - Active Projects - Boinc Combined - almost all 12 sub option pages in this option show nil data on request


Regards
Zy
[BOINCstats] Willy
 
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9136
Credits: 348,241,820
World-rank: 2,972

2011-05-08 10:36:35
last modified: 2011-05-08 10:49:56

I found the problem in the webserver, one of the memory modules is broken. I might be able to bring it back to life.

Edit: in its intended future role that is. It won't become the webserver again.
Please do not PM, IM or email me for support (they will go unread/ignored). Use the forum for support.
Rainmaker65
 
BAM!ID: 97624
Joined: 2011-03-04
Posts: 85
Credits: 135,389,121
World-rank: 5,868

2011-05-08 13:38:28

My BAM menu

When clicking on Sign-up for projects and selecting either Find Account or Create Account, the project is
never added and doesn't appear in the project list.

I've tried to add AQUA@home both ways, but I have yet to see a CONFORMATION message that it has been added.

Paul

[BOINCstats] Willy
 
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9136
Credits: 348,241,820
World-rank: 2,972

2011-05-08 14:03:06

Rainmaker65 wrote:
My BAM menuWhen clicking on Sign-up for projects and selecting either Find Account or Create Account, the project is never added and doesn't appear in the project list.


Fixed
Please do not PM, IM or email me for support (they will go unread/ignored). Use the forum for support.
[BOINCstats] Willy
 
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9136
Credits: 348,241,820
World-rank: 2,972

2011-05-08 17:29:29

Got it set up correctly for the most part but performance is not what I expected from a server with these specifications. I'll have to find out what the problem is and then try to eliminate that.

For now it'll have to do so bare with me.
Please do not PM, IM or email me for support (they will go unread/ignored). Use the forum for support.
Rainmaker65
 
BAM!ID: 97624
Joined: 2011-03-04
Posts: 85
Credits: 135,389,121
World-rank: 5,868

2011-05-08 18:47:12

Firstly, good job on the fix for adding projects. I was able to add what I wanted and all "seemed" right with the world...lol.

My next bug is similar to "signing up for projects," only I can't join a team for the project I just added.

From My BAM menu, I click on Teams, and then select the "Change/search" tic for the project I recently joined.

I then search for the desired instance (USA) by clicking on the search button, select the team I want to join by tic-ing the appropriate "join" box, then "Join."

I don't receive any information in the "Log" area, similar to "signing up for new projects."

Thanks, Willy!

Paul
mitrichr
 
BAM!ID: 41071
Joined: 2007-12-15
Posts: 79
Credits: 29,761,555
World-rank: 17,480

2011-05-08 22:15:23

Re: a new server

We all benefit from BOINCstats, we should therefore contribute money for the new server. I will do so, nothing much, but what I can do, US$36, after I post this reply.

Don't be afraid to ask for money,

Thanks for everything you do.
ZoSo
 
BAM!ID: 66060
Joined: 2009-02-27
Posts: 4
Credits: 8,318,882
World-rank: 46,476

2011-05-09 15:36:39

mitrichr wrote:
Re: a new server

We all benefit from BOINCstats, we should therefore contribute money for the new server. I will do so, nothing much, but what I can do, US$36, after I post this reply.

Don't be afraid to ask for money,

Thanks for everything you do.


I concur. Having never donated, I've just now added about 8 euro to the funds.
8.8 before paypal's transaction (2.9% + $0.30USD) and currency conversion (2.5%) fees.

May I suggest "American Dollar" be changed to "U.S. Dollar" in the picklist? Canada and Mexico (et al) are part of America, too.

For what it's worth, the USD to Euro exchange rate on the donate page is off by about 25%, also.
PayPal Conversion Rate as of May 9, 2011: 1 U.S. Dollar = 0.675759 Euro

Thanks Willy... and please do get some sleep!

_



[BOINCstats] Willy
 
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9136
Credits: 348,241,820
World-rank: 2,972

2011-05-09 15:38:00
last modified: 2011-05-09 15:39:40

You may have noticed a short downtime just now, that was me rebooting the server to fix a failed drive in the RAID config.
Please do not PM, IM or email me for support (they will go unread/ignored). Use the forum for support.
[BOINCstats] Willy
 
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9136
Credits: 348,241,820
World-rank: 2,972

2011-05-09 17:38:38

I'm totally not happy with how this server is performing, it's a laugh. My ZX Spectrum could possibly do a better job at it.

So I'm going to finish the database server, then I can harvest the RAID controller from the old database server, and I will then build another webserver from the 1U I got from Intel. That one will be tested thoroughly and then replace the current one. I will then reconfigure the current one.

All in all it looks like we are in for two weeks of <insert favorite curse here> because that's the best I can do.
Please do not PM, IM or email me for support (they will go unread/ignored). Use the forum for support.
Copycat-Digital
 
BAM!ID: 62084
Joined: 2008-11-28
Posts: 110
Credits: 994,793,797
World-rank: 1,346

2011-05-09 21:54:48

BOINCstats Willy wrote:
My ZX Spectrum could possibly do a better job at it.


Willy can I donate my ZX81 with the 64k ram expansion? Sure it's in a box somewhere in my garage
Zydor
    Donator
Tester
BAM!ID: 65177
Joined: 2009-02-06
Posts: 275
Credits: 2,140,539,821
World-rank: 747

2011-05-09 22:46:02

Willy

An Observation only in case it indicates the tip of a hidden problem iceberg. If you look at my Detailed Stats page, you'll see the pie chart for last 24hrs showing Collatz as the major (almost only) contributor to totals. Thats way out, as in fact the Daily Total shows 1,103,612 from PrimeGrid. Not fussed about the pie-chart .... just a concern that the incorrectly presented data may indicate a deeper malaise.

Detailed Stats Page

The last time I had a session where near 100% was Collatz was 4-6 May. It maybe its accessing old data for the pie-chart for some reason

Hang in there Willy - not one moan or bleat about the problems and rebuilds in Shout or Forum says it all - the overwhelming vast majority are on side

And as a previous poster stated, dont forget to sleep .....

Regards
Zy
[BOINCstats] Willy
 
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9136
Credits: 348,241,820
World-rank: 2,972

2011-05-10 18:10:17

Whatever I try with this server, it doesn't help. I'm out of ideas so we'll have to wait until I can get the other server up.

I'm beginning to suspect that it's either a faulty RAID controller or SSD's aren't that good at database as demonstrated by Anand and Tom.
Please do not PM, IM or email me for support (they will go unread/ignored). Use the forum for support.
[BOINCstats] Willy
 
Forum moderator - Administrator - Developer - Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 1
Joined: 2006-01-09
Posts: 9136
Credits: 348,241,820
World-rank: 2,972

2011-05-10 19:39:29
last modified: 2011-05-10 19:39:41

I now blocked the stats pages for search engines. That should lower the load a bit.
Please do not PM, IM or email me for support (they will go unread/ignored). Use the forum for support.
Pages: [1]

Index :: News :: 2011-05-07: BOINCstats - Unexpected downtimes. (4151)
Reason: