Pages: [1]
dennisshows
 
BAM!ID: 44031
Joined: 2008-01-16
Posts: 12
Credits: 11,059,981
World-rank: 47,818

2008-01-20 21:47:54

I've noticed that BOINC leaves several projects "ready to report". I can update them and the report is sent, but is there a way to set BOINC to report as soon as it gets results? I'd hate to know that a machine was shutdown and left off several days or weeks while having unreported results.
Keck_Komputers
 
BAM!ID: 571
Joined: 2006-05-22
Posts: 178
Credits: 27,286,654
World-rank: 25,006

2008-01-21 07:12:54

No. Reporting results is costly for the database servers so the client attempts to do multiple reports at once. It will report them automatically when it is ready, normally not more than 24 hours after they finish.
BOINC WIKI

BOINCing since 2002/12/8
64chrysler300
BAM!ID: 5931
Joined: 2006-09-11
Posts: 21
Credits: 113,914,994
World-rank: 9,118

2008-01-21 17:13:11

I was curious about that too....thanks for the info.
PovAddict
BAM!ID: 115
Joined: 2006-05-10
Posts: 1013
Credits: 5,634,850
World-rank: 75,732

2008-01-29 03:13:33

No. Reporting results is costly for the database servers so the client attempts to do multiple reports at once.

In more specific terms, it's way more efficient to do one request reporting 10 results than 10 request reporting 1 result each.
Not running BOINC anymore for several reasons...
Jord
BAM!ID: 18
Joined: 2006-01-31
Posts: 83
Credits: 22,262,191
World-rank: 28,993

2008-01-31 13:45:58

No. Reporting results is costly for the database servers so the client attempts to do multiple reports at once.

In more specific terms, it's way more efficient to do one request reporting 10 results than 10 request reporting 1 result each.

Makes you wonder why it's then being reintroduced as an option in BOINC 6.1
Have servers/DBs become better? ;-)
PovAddict
BAM!ID: 115
Joined: 2006-05-10
Posts: 1013
Credits: 5,634,850
World-rank: 75,732

2008-01-31 21:58:58

Makes you wonder why it's then being reintroduced as an option in BOINC 6.1
Have servers/DBs become better? ;-)

Shh! That setting was added for WCG to use on some internal computers which get reformatted very often; it wouldn't be nice for them to be cleaned off while they still have stuff ready to report.

I think that should have been an internal patch for WCG, not something on the official client...
Not running BOINC anymore for several reasons...
Jord
BAM!ID: 18
Joined: 2006-01-31
Posts: 83
Credits: 22,262,191
World-rank: 28,993

2008-02-01 00:11:49

I think that should have been an internal patch for WCG, not something on the official client...

Probably because WCG doesn't have their own client anymore?
PovAddict
BAM!ID: 115
Joined: 2006-05-10
Posts: 1013
Credits: 5,634,850
World-rank: 75,732

2008-02-01 14:46:34

I think that should have been an internal patch for WCG, not something on the official client...

Probably because WCG doesn't have their own client anymore?

I meant computers inside WCG buildings, not distributed to users.
Not running BOINC anymore for several reasons...
Pages: [1]

Index :: BOINC :: Can BOINC be set to report as soon as it gets results?
Reason: