Pages: [1]
PatHawks

BOINCstats SOFA member
BAM!ID: 63474
Credits: 492,666
World-rank: 305,749

2009-01-20 15:49:49

I'm new to BOINC (have been crunching for three weeks now)

Why is there such a difference in how much credits are worth on different projects? For example, I can an equivilant number of credits 6x faster on MilkyWay@Home than on WCG.

Why is this?
Or is it all just my imagination?
Saenger

Tester - Translator
BAM!ID: 5
Credits: 221,141,615
World-rank: 6,230

2009-01-20 15:59:23

Why is there such a difference in how much credits are worth on different projects? For example, I can an equivilant number of credits 6x faster on MilkyWay@Home than on WCG.

Why is this?
Or is it all just my imagination?

Milkyway is an extreme, they don't give a fuck about credit fairness, they seem to want as much crunching power as possible, regardless how to get it and how much collateral damage is done. They are of course applauded by a bunch of credit jerks who want to climb the stats with no real crunching, the cheaters.
IMHO MilkyWay should be excluded from the stats sites, as the credits are by no means comparable to other BOINC projects.
Grüße vom Sänger

2009-01-20 16:00:45

Why is there such a difference in how much credits are worth on different projects? faster on

it's because some projects are optimizing their apps - so more work is done in a shorter time and since credits are related to the work you do get more credits. those who don't improve, are falling back.

and yes, some guys will tell you, that this is unfair. they are the preachers of stagnancy.

PatHawks

BOINCstats SOFA member

2009-01-20 16:25:15

Milkyway is an extreme, they don't give a fuck about credit fairness, they seem to want as much crunching power as possible, regardless how to get it and how much collateral damage is done.

While I agree that it's hardly fair, it seems to work. That's the reason they got my attention, after all.
it's because some projects are optimizing their apps