Pages: [1]
Dominar Rygel XVI
 
BAM!ID: 19
Joined: 2006-02-13
Posts: 18
Credits: 0
World-rank: 0

2010-01-30 13:55:03

I have a system with a GF8800GTS which ran CUDA apps just fine, but I added a GF7100 so I could use a third monitor. Now BOINC simply says that it can't find a CUDA enabled product, even though the GF8800GTS is still there.

The GF8800GTS resides in PCIe slot 1, the GF7100 in PCIe slot 2. The GF8800GTS is set as primary card in the BIOS and in Windows 7 (64bit).

Anything I can try?
Sid2
 
Forum moderator - BOINCstats SOFA member
BAM!ID: 28578
Joined: 2007-06-13
Posts: 7312
Credits: 556,110,851
World-rank: 2,314

2010-01-30 15:01:30
last modified: 2010-01-30 15:08:42

Dominar Rygel XVI wrote:
I have a system with a GF8800GTS which ran CUDA apps just fine, but I added a GF7100 so I could use a third monitor. Now BOINC simply says that it can't find a CUDA enabled product, even though the GF8800GTS is still there.

The GF8800GTS resides in PCIe slot 1, the GF7100 in PCIe slot 2. The GF8800GTS is set as primary card in the BIOS and in Windows 7 (64bit).

Anything I can try?



nVidia GeForce 7100 GS?

Isn't listed on this thread. . .

. . . apparently it is a hopeless boat anchor as far as GPU processing goes. . .

Dominar Rygel XVI
 
BAM!ID: 19
Joined: 2006-02-13
Posts: 18
Credits: 0
World-rank: 0

2010-01-30 15:14:35

I know the GF7100 doesn't have CUDA and that it can't run BOINC. It's the GF8800GTS that supports it, but BOINC ignores it after adding the GF7100 (which I remind you is only to be able to add a third monitor).
Sid2
 
Forum moderator - BOINCstats SOFA member
BAM!ID: 28578
Joined: 2007-06-13
Posts: 7312
Credits: 556,110,851
World-rank: 2,314

2010-01-30 15:29:52

Dominar Rygel XVI wrote:
I know the GF7100 doesn't have CUDA and that it can't run BOINC. It's the GF8800GTS that supports it, but BOINC ignores it after adding the GF7100 (which I remind you is only to be able to add a third monitor).



Sorry, another example of DSL brain meeting up with dialup reading.

. . . maybe one of our GPU gurus can solve your problem.

Gundolf Jahn
 
BAM!ID: 16586
Joined: 2007-01-07
Posts: 469
Credits: 447,470
World-rank: 308,166

2010-01-30 16:36:28

What's your BOINC version and CUDA driver version?

Did you check out cc_config.xml (<use_all_gpus> or <ignore_cuda_dev> (for the GF7100))?

Gruß,
Gundolf
Computer sind nicht alles im Leben. (Kleiner Scherz)
Rakarin
 
BAM!ID: 1019
Joined: 2006-05-30
Posts: 92
Credits: 0
World-rank: 0

2010-01-30 16:52:59

Well, I'll try...

I will assume you do not have them connected with SLI. I don't think you can link CUDA and non-CUDA. If you can, the drivers may see both as a "lowest common denominator".

Does the 7100 use the same whql drivers as the CUDA cards? If not, install that driver first, reboot, then install the 8800 drivers second.

Check the Nvidia beta drivers. There was a bug with the recent 196.12 driver. It involved multiple cards on Vista and Win 7, which I don't have so I ignored it. I'm sorry I couldn't be more helpful. http://www.nvidia.com/Download/Find.aspx?lang=en-us

As always, make sure you are using the latest drivers.

You might have to have the 8800 be the primary monitor. The 8800 *must* have a monitor. CUDA apps do not work if there is no display, either a monitor or a dummy loop-back plug. It sounds like this is not an issue, though.

Have you changed BOINC clients lately? You may want to try the beta release.

It is also possible this is a bug in BOINC. Does anyone else have a CUDA and non-CUDA card together, crunching on the CUDA? If BOINC only has one bit for yes/no on the presence of CUDA...

I just woke up, so I'm sorry if this is not too helpful.

Mike
Balooz
 
BAM!ID: 61790
Joined: 2008-11-20
Posts: 2
Credits: 17,983,490
World-rank: 27,778

2010-02-04 04:07:25

7100 Cant Run Cuda Or Physx. Installing A 8800 will enable physx and cuda but will be offset to the lowest clocked card. So Adding your 7100 will down clock your 8800 to its specs therefor makin Boinc see another 7100. Just Ditch your 7100 it will run better without that card overall. ( your system and Boinc)
Rakarin
 
BAM!ID: 1019
Joined: 2006-05-30
Posts: 92
Credits: 0
World-rank: 0

2010-02-07 15:52:10

Balooz wrote:
7100 Cant Run Cuda Or Physx. Installing A 8800 will enable physx and cuda but will be offset to the lowest clocked card. So Adding your 7100 will down clock your 8800 to its specs therefor makin Boinc see another 7100. Just Ditch your 7100 it will run better without that card overall. ( your system and Boinc)


It steps down?
I thought one of the nice things about SLI was that you could mix cards. The cards were supposed to "auto-magically" use the higher-end card for graphics, and the lower end card for PhysX.
Well, that's a disappointment.
Dominar Rygel XVI
 
BAM!ID: 19
Joined: 2006-02-13
Posts: 18
Credits: 0
World-rank: 0

2010-02-08 06:11:45
last modified: 2010-02-08 06:11:59

The problem was solved by reinstalling the nVidia drivers.

Nothing seen like reverting back to the lowest chip. The 8800 works again.

Thanks!
Pages: [1]

Index :: BOINC :: CUDA not recognized anymore
Reason: