Pages: [1]
hillbillybob
BAM!ID: 83856
Joined: 2010-04-07
Posts: 3
Credits: 1,791,841
World-rank: 143,417

2010-04-10 19:09:11

Hello everyone, I'm relatively new to this and I'm having a bit of trouble.

I have the program installed on 2 computers: my desktop and my laptop. Everything works fine on my desktop, but BOINC will not run any tasks anymore on my laptop.

I've set up an account manager and I believe I have both attached to it. The laptop is getting tasks, and DID run them the first time I installed the program and my desktop was not running it, but then it stopped.

I don't use my laptop as much for anything anymore, and wanted to keep BOINC running on it to put it to good use. Funny though, it doesn't want to work right but my desktop that I use all the time works fine!

If it matters, the laptop is a Dell Inspiron 1720 w/ Vista.
magyarficko
 
BAM!ID: 76666
Joined: 2009-10-30
Posts: 619
Credits: 287,367,952
World-rank: 3,967

2010-04-10 19:35:29


Check your "processor useage" preferences under the Advanced / Preferences Tab in your BOINCManager. There are selections that wil disable BOINC if your PC is busy working on something else OR if it is running on Batteries.

Gundolf Jahn
 
BAM!ID: 16586
Joined: 2007-01-07
Posts: 469
Credits: 447,470
World-rank: 313,601

2010-04-10 21:03:40
last modified: 2010-04-10 21:12:30

Both your computers did get credit today, so something must be working (sometimes) :-)

Does your laptop (try to) hibernate?

If the preferences don't reveal anything, copy&paste the first about 20 lines of your Messages tab after a restart here.

Gruß,
Gundolf
[edit]I just saw at the SETI site that your T8300's CUDA card only has 256 MiB memory. If there's not enough available memory, the CUDA task will not be started by BOINC, although they were downloaded. That's because for the download the total memory is checked.[/edit]
Computer sind nicht alles im Leben. (Kleiner Scherz)
hillbillybob
BAM!ID: 83856
Joined: 2010-04-07
Posts: 3
Credits: 1,791,841
World-rank: 143,417

2010-04-11 10:23:29

Gundolf Jahn wrote:
I just saw at the SETI site that your T8300's CUDA card only has 256 MiB memory. If there's not enough available memory, the CUDA task will not be started by BOINC, although they were downloaded. That's because for the download the total memory is checked.


I can try to disable some things to cut down on the memory usage, or if anyone knows a way to keep the GPU usable for the program but run the desktop display without using it to keep its memory free I can do that as well. Like I said before, I don't use the laptop for anything right now.

If none of that will work however, if I disable all use of the GPU in the manager for my laptop, will that prevent the manager from downloading work that requires the GPU?

The laptop is set to always remain on and active, no hibernation, and until BOIN installed the screensaver, nothing like that either. I made one change: set the program to run regardless of the CPU load (set it to zero). The messages repeat "no jobs available" for the projects.

I'm posting this on my desktop while I fiddle with the laptop. I'll post the messages following.

Thanks for the help by the way!
hillbillybob
BAM!ID: 83856
Joined: 2010-04-07
Posts: 3
Credits: 1,791,841
World-rank: 143,417

2010-04-11 10:30:59

4/11/2010 6:23:58 AM Starting BOINC client version 6.10.43 for windows_intelx86
4/11/2010 6:23:58 AM log flags: file_xfer, sched_ops, task
4/11/2010 6:23:58 AM Libraries: libcurl/7.19.7 OpenSSL/0.9.8l zlib/1.2.3
4/11/2010 6:23:58 AM Data directory: C:\ProgramData\BOINC
4/11/2010 6:23:58 AM Running under account Bob
4/11/2010 6:23:58 AM Processor: 2 GenuineIntel Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T8300 @ 2.40GHz [Family 6 Model 23 Stepping 6]
4/11/2010 6:23:58 AM Processor: 3.00 MB cache
4/11/2010 6:23:58 AM Processor features: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss htt tm pni ssse3 cx16 sse4_1 nx lm vmx tm2 pbe
4/11/2010 6:23:58 AM OS: Microsoft Windows Vista: Home Premium x86 Edition, Service Pack 1, (06.00.6001.00)
4/11/2010 6:23:58 AM Memory: 3.00 GB physical, 6.19 GB virtual
4/11/2010 6:23:58 AM Disk: 285.50 GB total, 82.60 GB free
4/11/2010 6:23:58 AM Local time is UTC -4 hours
4/11/2010 6:23:58 AM NVIDIA GPU 0: GeForce 8600M GT (driver version 18621, CUDA version 2020, compute capability 1.1, 256MB, 61 GFLOPS peak)
4/11/2010 6:23:58 AM lhcathome URL http://lhcathome.cern.ch/lhcathome/; Computer ID 9853389; resource share 100
4/11/2010 6:23:58 AM SETI@home URL http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/; Computer ID 5363253; resource share 100
4/11/2010 6:23:58 AM No general preferences found - using BOINC defaults
4/11/2010 6:23:58 AM Reading preferences override file
4/11/2010 6:23:58 AM Preferences:
4/11/2010 6:23:58 AM max memory usage when active: 1534.65MB
4/11/2010 6:23:58 AM max memory usage when idle: 2762.38MB
4/11/2010 6:23:58 AM max disk usage: 10.00GB
4/11/2010 6:23:58 AM (to change, visit the web site of an attached project,
4/11/2010 6:23:58 AM or click on Preferences)
4/11/2010 6:23:58 AM Not using a proxy
4/11/2010 6:24:08 AM SETI@home Sending scheduler request: To fetch work.
4/11/2010 6:24:08 AM SETI@home Requesting new tasks for CPU
4/11/2010 6:24:13 AM SETI@home Scheduler request completed: got 0 new tasks
4/11/2010 6:24:13 AM SETI@home Message from server: (Project has no jobs available)

I can't find anything I can identify as a problem. But I've also been awake for about 20 hours.

I removed all of my pending tasks (I had around 3 pages full) since they were all CUDA tasks, incase I won't be able to even run them. Now I gotta wait to get more. It isn't wanting to send me any after I cleared all of those others.

Thanks again for the tips. I'll check tomorrow after I let it sit and see if it picks up any more tasks AND does some work.
Gundolf Jahn
 
BAM!ID: 16586
Joined: 2007-01-07
Posts: 469
Credits: 447,470
World-rank: 313,601

2010-04-11 11:19:53

hillbillybob wrote:
I can try to disable some things to cut down on the memory usage, or if anyone knows a way to keep the GPU usable for the program but run the desktop display without using it to keep its memory free I can do that as well. Like I said before, I don't use the laptop for anything right now.

I can't tell you much about this, because I have no CUDA device, but there are several threads at the SETI fora. There are also threads about using the <cpu_sched_debug> logging option in cc_config.xml to show the needed/available memory difference.

If none of that will work however, if I disable all use of the GPU in the manager for my laptop, will that prevent the manager from downloading work that requires the GPU?

Yes, but it will also discard all task already downloaded, probably without reporting them, so that they'll have to time out. You could, however, uncheck the Nvidia options in the online project preferences; that would do nothing to the already downloaded tasks, and if you can't get them to run (again), you at least can abort and report them.

The laptop is set to always remain on and active, no hibernation, and until BOIN installed the screensaver, nothing like that either. I made one change: set the program to run regardless of the CPU load (set it to zero). The messages repeat "no jobs available" for the projects.

The "(Project has no jobs available)" messages mean exactly what they say. There's nothing you can do about that (besides retrying). There are forum threads about that too over there (try an {advanced} forum search).

Gruß,
Gundolf
magyarficko
 
BAM!ID: 76666
Joined: 2009-10-30
Posts: 619
Credits: 287,367,952
World-rank: 3,967

2010-04-11 16:21:32
last modified: 2010-04-11 16:21:52

One thing I noticed is ...


NVIDIA GPU 0: GeForce 8600M GT (driver version 18621, CUDA version 2020, compute capability 1.1, 256MB, 61 GFLOPS peak)



Worth investigating further, I might be wrong, but I think a lot of projects require a higher "compute capability".

Pages: [1]

Index :: BOINC :: Cannot get BOINC to run tasks on 2nd PC
Reason: