Pages: [1]
STE\/E
Tester
BAM!ID: 57534
Joined: 2008-08-27
Posts: 2078
Credits: 1,910,547,820,670
World-rank: 2

2013-05-19 19:48:43
last modified: 2013-05-19 19:49:53

What would the reason be for Projects not Initializing ? Every time I have to do a new BOINC Install I have to pull teeth to get the Projects Initialized. Nothing seems to work, uninstalling, rebooting, no matter what I do the Projects refuse to Initialize. It's not a Network problem because the Box can get on the Internet or the Project's wouldn't attach in the 1'st place. Right now I have another box I can't get any projects to Initialize, I'm just going to shut it down because I don't know anything else to so with it. People are wondering why people leave BOINC, well this is enough to drive people away as I've had this problem for months now, I have several other Box's that have been shut off for awhile now with the same problem ...
Dr Who Fan
BAM!ID: 1075
Joined: 2006-05-31
Posts: 670
Credits: 88,780,582
World-rank: 8,489

2013-05-20 03:37:51
last modified: 2013-05-20 03:50:48

STE/E, If the non-communicating PC's are running Windows, you might have to check your firewall permissions/setting EVEN if you are using the one built into Windows to make sure BOINC.exe has permission to use port 31416.

Edit -
Have you rebooted the PC's after installing BOINC?
Was Boinc installed to run on an Administrator or Limited User Account?
Also if running Windows, Microsoft "antivirus" aka Microsoft Security Essentials sometimes interferes and blocks it from accessing the net by default, so check that also.

STE\/E
Tester
BAM!ID: 57534
Joined: 2008-08-27
Posts: 2078
Credits: 1,910,547,820,670
World-rank: 2

2013-05-20 11:05:38

Yes I rebooted several times, I have the Firewall's Disabled on all my Computers & don't run any other Firewall or Antivirus Software & don't run Microsoft Security Essentials, I always install BOINC for anyone to use ... I like to live on the Wild Side ... lol
TeeVeeEss
  Donator
Tester - Translator - BOINCstats SOFA member
BAM!ID: 2648
Joined: 2006-06-27
Posts: 778
Credits: 12,384,756,271
World-rank: 255

2013-05-20 13:47:17

Hi STE\/E
Give us some more information.
Which projects don't initialize and which do?
Did you try to reset the non-initializing project after a (apparently) successful attach?
Which BOINC-version are you using?
STE\/E
Tester
BAM!ID: 57534
Joined: 2008-08-27
Posts: 2078
Credits: 1,910,547,820,670
World-rank: 2

2013-05-20 14:05:57

No Projects will Initialize, none, zero Projects when this happens. I think I have tried resetting the Project after it Attaches but not positive, I'll give that a try later, running Linux on the Box right now & will be leaving soon so I'll wait until I get back. I'm running v7.0.58 on the Box, will try v7.0.64 later too & see what happens.

The weird thing is after the Project Attaches it sits there saying it's Initializing but never does, if I do a manual Update it'll say Update in Progress but it never Updates it's self, I've waited Hr's but nothing Happens ...
TeeVeeEss
  Donator
Tester - Translator - BOINCstats SOFA member
BAM!ID: 2648
Joined: 2006-06-27
Posts: 778
Credits: 12,384,756,271
World-rank: 255

2013-05-20 14:14:32

I'm no expert in the Linux-installation of BOINC, but 2 things come into my mind:
- Check if the projects-directory has sufficient rights for writing. Did you install BOINC in your home-dir?
- Check if the total free disk-space is enough. BOINC has it's own settings regarding how much disk-space it can claim...
STE\/E
Tester
BAM!ID: 57534
Joined: 2008-08-27
Posts: 2078
Credits: 1,910,547,820,670
World-rank: 2

2013-05-20 14:18:12

Linux runs fine on the Box, it's Windows 7 Pro that's been giving me problems on all Box's if I have to doe a reinstall of BOINC. The Projects will Attach but just won't Initialize ...
TeeVeeEss
  Donator
Tester - Translator - BOINCstats SOFA member
BAM!ID: 2648
Joined: 2006-06-27
Posts: 778
Credits: 12,384,756,271
World-rank: 255

2013-05-20 15:04:19
last modified: 2013-05-20 15:08:56

Ah, ok, sorry for the misunderstanding , but the 2 checks could also be of use for Win 7 Pro.

For Win 7 Pro you could also check if there are local security groups made during a (former) installation of BOINC.
Look for groupnames like boinc_admins, boinc_users, boinc_projects.
If so, check if your user-account (the one which you log into Win 7) is member of those groups.
The quickest way to show which local groups there are: Start->Run..., type lusrmgr.msc and hit Enter.

As there are no projects at the moment, you could also do a cleanup. After de-installing BOINC, manually delete:
- Those local security-groups if they still exist.
- The BOINC-data directory if it still exists.
- The directory in which BOINC was installed.

And re-install the 7.0.64-version

For more reference: check out the BOINC FAQ at boincfaq.mundayweb.com about installation problems and solutions.
Or this one: Complete Uninstall BOINC 6 or 7
reklov
BAM!ID: 32502
Joined: 2007-08-15
Posts: 32
Credits: 144,420,665
World-rank: 6,047

2013-05-26 10:28:43

STE/E wrote:

Linux runs fine on the Box, it's Windows 7 Pro that's been giving me problems on all Box's if I have to doe a reinstall of BOINC. The Projects will Attach but just won't Initialize ...


I now got the same Problem for some projects on moving to a new System: DNA, Spinhenge, Pirates, ...
Steve, did you got any working solution yet?
STE\/E
Tester
BAM!ID: 57534
Joined: 2008-08-27
Posts: 2078
Credits: 1,910,547,820,670
World-rank: 2

2013-05-26 12:08:22
last modified: 2013-05-26 12:10:31

No, I've just been running the Box on Linux for now which is a pain in the arse but at least it'll attach to Projects anyway. I may switch back to Windows on the Box shortly, Linux has been giving me problems too so between the 2 OS's is like choose your Poison ...

I usually get Windows BOINC working but never know what I actually do or did to make it work other than keep trying re-installs & deleting everything I can about BOINC ...
reklov
BAM!ID: 32502
Joined: 2007-08-15
Posts: 32
Credits: 144,420,665
World-rank: 6,047

2013-05-26 19:03:47

What I don't understand at all: most projects I could attach w/o any Problems on Win8 (previously still running Vista on the box). About 10% of the projects don't initialize - but why?
BobCat13
BAM!ID: 86128
Joined: 2010-06-06
Posts: 3
Credits: 26,083,571
World-rank: 20,648

2013-05-27 03:34:19

reklov wrote:

What I don't understand at all: most projects I could attach w/o any Problems on Win8 (previously still running Vista on the box). About 10% of the projects don't initialize - but why?

Check the server status page on the projects that won't attach. If the scheduler is listed as not running, you won't be able to attach.
Cruncher Pete
 
BAM!ID: 34996
Joined: 2007-09-20
Posts: 168
Credits: 653,193,162,580
World-rank: 9

2013-05-27 06:25:08

I have a different problem on Project Initialization. The option "My Projects" gives you an opportunity to allow automatic initialization if you signed-up for projects. This is a good feature, the problem is that unless you delete the program, it will re-initialize automatically. There is no feature to have a choice like: "Do not initialize this item".

I am looking at this from this angle. There are some projects that you have already joined but discovered that it is a project that you do not wish to participate or in the case of Radioactive at home and Quake cathcer need to purchase extra equipment in order that your time you spend on your computer is usefull. If I delete these projects as not wanted, the next time I start BOINCStats, it will automatically reappear as I am still a user with credit on those accounts. More than likely I will not notice this in amongst over 70 projects and it will waste my electricity and CPU cycles for it is no use for the project but it will run anyway without the needed equipment. I tried removing the project, but the account is not deleted and will reappear the next time the site contacts BOINCStats.

Any helpful suggestions?
TeeVeeEss
  Donator
Tester - Translator - BOINCstats SOFA member
BAM!ID: 2648
Joined: 2006-06-27
Posts: 778
Credits: 12,384,756,271
World-rank: 255

2013-05-28 18:55:24
last modified: 2013-05-28 18:56:38

Cruncher Pete wrote:
I have a different problem....

Don't hijack this thread with your problem. Please start a new thread in the BAM!-section, I am sure you will get an answer...
STE\/E
Tester
BAM!ID: 57534
Joined: 2008-08-27
Posts: 2078
Credits: 1,910,547,820,670
World-rank: 2

2013-05-28 20:10:52

TeeVeeEss wrote:

Cruncher Pete wrote:
I have a different problem....

Don't hijack this thread with your problem. Please start a new thread in the BAM!-section, I am sure you will get an answer...



It's okay, I know Pete, it's about Project Initialization & maybe will help ...
Jeff17
 
Tester - BOINCstats SOFA member
BAM!ID: 47291
Joined: 2008-03-03
Posts: 441
Credits: 10,265,444,525
World-rank: 282

2013-06-02 21:59:49

Cruncher Pete wrote:

I have a different problem on Project Initialization. The option "My Projects" gives you an opportunity to allow automatic initialization if you signed-up for projects. This is a good feature, the problem is that unless you delete the program, it will re-initialize automatically. There is no feature to have a choice like: "Do not initialize this item".

I am looking at this from this angle. There are some projects that you have already joined but discovered that it is a project that you do not wish to participate or in the case of Radioactive at home and Quake cathcer need to purchase extra equipment in order that your time you spend on your computer is usefull. If I delete these projects as not wanted, the next time I start BOINCStats, it will automatically reappear as I am still a user with credit on those accounts. More than likely I will not notice this in amongst over 70 projects and it will waste my electricity and CPU cycles for it is no use for the project but it will run anyway without the needed equipment. I tried removing the project, but the account is not deleted and will reappear the next time the site contacts BOINCStats.

Any helpful suggestions?


I agree with TeeVeeEss this sounds like a BAM issue.

Pete if I understand you correctly, you are referring to the 5th column on the BAM -> My Projects page. This column lets you check to attach all new hosts to each individual project. To undo you simply un-check that project. Note the 6th column gives you the option to attach or detach all hosts now, so you could undo your mistaken attaches easily.
Jeff17
 
Tester - BOINCstats SOFA member
BAM!ID: 47291
Joined: 2008-03-03
Posts: 441
Credits: 10,265,444,525
World-rank: 282

2013-06-02 22:25:38
last modified: 2013-06-02 22:27:07

STE/E wrote:

Linux runs fine on the Box, it's Windows 7 Pro that's been giving me problems on all Box's if I have to doe a reinstall of BOINC. The Projects will Attach but just won't Initialize ...


Steve this is odd. I have three Windows 7 hosts and had no problems with attach and initialize on any of them, if the project was up. Do you have this problem even with normally reliable projects like Einstein, POEM, PrimeGrid or SIMAP? Can you paste the messages from the event log when you attach to a new project that fails to initialize.

Cruncher Pete
 
BAM!ID: 34996
Joined: 2007-09-20
Posts: 168
Credits: 653,193,162,580
World-rank: 9

2013-06-02 23:23:59

Jeff17 wrote:

Cruncher Pete wrote:

I have a different problem on Project Initialization. The option "My Projects" gives you an opportunity to allow automatic initialization if you signed-up for projects. This is a good feature, the problem is that unless you delete the program, it will re-initialize automatically. There is no feature to have a choice like: "Do not initialize this item".

I am looking at this from this angle. There are some projects that you have already joined but discovered that it is a project that you do not wish to participate or in the case of Radioactive at home and Quake cathcer need to purchase extra equipment in order that your time you spend on your computer is usefull. If I delete these projects as not wanted, the next time I start BOINCStats, it will automatically reappear as I am still a user with credit on those accounts. More than likely I will not notice this in amongst over 70 projects and it will waste my electricity and CPU cycles for it is no use for the project but it will run anyway without the needed equipment. I tried removing the project, but the account is not deleted and will reappear the next time the site contacts BOINCStats.

Any helpful suggestions?


I agree with TeeVeeEss this sounds like a BAM issue.

Pete if I understand you correctly, you are referring to the 5th column on the BAM -> My Projects page. This column lets you check to attach all new hosts to each individual project. To undo you simply un-check that project. Note the 6th column gives you the option to attach or detach all hosts now, so you could undo your mistaken attaches easily.


Thanks Jeff, I already tried that and deleted quake catcher in the 6th column as you mentioned. The next day it returned and started crunching even though I have no special equipment that the project needs. Never mind, I can live with that. My apologies if I offended somebody by posting in the wrong place. I had no intention to hijack somebody elses thread, but as the subject already existed I thought my input might be of some help. I thought I posted here in accordance with the rules as posted by Willy. I had no idea that it should have been in the BAM area. I shall now return the thread to its original intention and I will cease interrupting. Again, my apologies...
Pages: [1]

Index :: BOINC :: Project Initialization
Reason: